On the Brown Low: The Elephant in the Room

tea at the elephant roomEver wonder what there is to do once you step off Brown’s campus? Curious about what Providence has to offer? On the Brown Low will be your faithful guide! Be sure to check in every week with us, Lily Hartmann and Brianna Lambert, to find out about the best spots around Providence and Rhode Island!

This may come as a shock to all of you, but I have something very important to tell you: college can be stressful (ok, so most of you already probably knew that, but I wanted to be dramatic). The majority of the time, everything is great and dandy. Some weeks, however, Murphy’s law is put into full effect and everything that can go wrong will go wrong. This week was one of those weeks for me. At the end of it all, I definitely needed some time away from College Hill to regroup and recharge. I couldn’t think of any better way to do that then with some good tea and desserts at The Elephant Room.

The Elephant Room is an absurdly cute tea shop in Cranston, Rhode Island. Yes, I went to a completely different city to get tea, which is sort of ridiculous, but Cranston is only a fifteen minute drive or forty minute bus ride from Brown’s campus. Plus this place is totally worth it. I, along with my roommate Beth and fellow blogger Dolan, opted to take an uber for the sake of time. The Elephant Room has a very relaxing atmosphere, complete with comfy couches and a live guitarist playing in the corner. They offer a wide selection of tea and various desserts, including crepes. My friends and I ordered a pot of Happy tea, which did indeed make us very happy, and each got a different type of crepe. Beth got a berry blintz, Dolan got a gluten free black forest crepe, and I got a simple brown sugar and butter crepe. Now I’m sort of a snob when it comes to crepes, but The Elephant Room met my high standards. My friends really enjoyed their food as well. I would definitely recommend checking this place out if you’re ever in the area.

crepesI love Brown, but every once in a while I have to get away from it all. I would also recommend that you, wherever you end up, take a break from your campus every now and then. Giving yourself space to breath away from campus is an important part of self care. So no matter how much work you have to do or how stressed you feel, make sure you set aside some time to go off campus.

Your finally relaxed blogger,

Brianna

Curious about something in Providence that we haven’t covered? Shoot either Brianna or me an email (lily_hartmann@brown.edu or brianna_lambert@brown.edu) and let us know what we should explore in our next post.

 

 

Leave a Reply

