A Fresh View: A Dream Come True

image1Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

I’m overwhelmed with happiness to announce that on Wednesday, I found out that I’ll be a Residential Peer Leader (RPL) (Brown lingo for RA) for first-years next year! There are three types of RPLs in first-year residence halls: Residential Counselors (RCs), who handle topics including but not limited to the college transition, Women Peer Counselors (WPCs), who handle topics concerning but not limited to women, and Minority Peer Counselors (MPCs), who support but are not limited to students of color, and facilitate campus-wide workshops on social identity issues. I am very excited to be an MPC. Maybe I’ll have some of y’all as my residents next year!

This is a position that I’ve been interested in since the beginning of the year, as MPCs are a significant part of facilitating the pre-orientation program that I was in, the Third World Transition Program (TWTP), in which we learned resources at Brown and systems of oppression in society while bonding with our new peers. Furthermore, as I mentioned above, MPCs support students of color and discuss social identity issues, which I have especially been involved in and learning about since I’ve arrived to Brown.

Because this is a position I had been wanting to apply to for many months, it feels unreal that I’ve been accepted. Though I didn’t mention the application process in my past few blog posts because I didn’t want to jinx it, it has been one of my big stresses since it meant so much to me. Also, since I’ve come to Brown, I’ve been rejected from seven positions including two internships, and finally receiving an acceptance is so uplifting. I’ve been rereading the RPL decision email multiple times a day since I’ve received it, to make sure that it’s not a dream.

I overjoyed and pumped to have been selected for this role, as I understand how important RPLs, especially MPCs, have supported and influenced my first year at Brown. I am incredibly thankful for them as role models and my supporters, and I am more than ready to embark on this journey. It’s simultaneously daunting and exciting to realize that in a few months, I’ll be in the same position as my role models. The RPL role focuses on paying it forward, and I’m eager to be the friend and support to the students in the class of 2019 that this year’s RPLS were for me. I’m thrilled to learn from next year’s first-year students and the experiences that I’ll encounter with them.

All RPLs have decorations and such on their doors, and I’ve started brainstorming the possible color schemes and layouts of my future door decorations. I might be getting ahead of myself, but I just can’t contain my excitement.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

One thought on “A Fresh View: A Dream Come True

Leave a Reply

