Wise Fools: Update on Sorority Life

10959522_718563108242823_6105309589762490111_n

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Hi guys!

So if you know me well, and you’re reading this, you’re probably stifling a fit of laughter because you cannot fathom how I have managed to look so sorority in the cover photo of this blog post. For my day 1 readers, you remember that I wrote a blog post about Greek life at Brown when I joined a sorority last semester. I thought I would write this week’s post giving an update on my life ever since I joined a sorority.

The sorority life has been pretty great. Just as I wanted, I’ve been meeting a lot of new people through my sorority. I’m constantly meeting new people through the various mixers we have and just through the group meetings within my sorority. We also recently had our rush weekend where I met 200 potential new members. I was talking to a million people for five hours a day, but I actually really enjoyed meeting so many new people. It brought me back to the excitement of Freshman year.

The sorority life is filled with a lot of group meetings and mixers, but at our mixers, we usually do fun things. For example, we have gone bowling and to Dave and Buster’s in past mixers. I’ve also gotten a lot closer to many of the sisters as the semester continues. I must admit that at first, I was overwhelmed by the sisterhood because I was new and everyone already seemed really close to each other. But my sorority recently started a fun little thing where we get matched with other sisters within the sorority and go on little dinner dates during the week to get to know each other better. This is super fun because the sorority is so big and it’s hard to get a feeling of cohesiveness without being overwhelmed by the sheer amount of girls.

Being in a sorority can sometimes result in an exhausting number of social events, but luckily, KD allows its members to choose which social events they attend and they’re very understanding if you can’t make something. It forces me to go out more. It forces me to meet new people. It forces me to socialize. It forces me to leave the Sci-Li. Additionally, it makes me get my work done far in advance. For Rush Week, we were at the house for five hours a day, four days in a row. It was incredibly brutal, but it forced me to get all of my work for the week out of the way.

Sophomore year is really tough. For most people, it’s a year where you’re taking the hardest classes of your academic career. You don’t really see your close acquaintances from Freshman year unless you really put in the effort. It’s easy to become isolated and stressed about your classes, summer internships, and concentration declarations. It’s so nice to have a support system filled with sisters. We have study hours where we get together and study so everyone suffers together. And whenever you go into the lounge, you are bound to run into a group of sisters. It’s incredibly cool to have so many people who want to be your friend just because you share one common denominator. This past week, I was incredibly sick and miserable as I laid coughing and sneezing in my bed. When I told my sisters that I couldn’t make it to our weekly meeting due to my cold, they immediately texted me and asked if they could bring me cold medicine, soup, or anything else (Thanks Julia! <3).

So why did I write this week’s post about friendship and how happy I am to have gone Greek? It’s not to flaunt my sisterhood in your face or to try to convince you to go Greek. Greek life isn’t for everyone. It might seem excessive and unnecessary or overwhelming for some people. For me, it was exactly what I needed during my sophomore year of college. Lately, Greek life at universities all over the country have been coming under a lot of scrutiny for various reasons. We are all aware of the preconceived notions that people have surrounding sororities, thinking that it’s a house filled with superficial girls who are looking for any reason to judge you and be fake with you.

Greek life, in theory, is a great concept. The idea of a bunch of people coming together in hopes of forming lifelong friendships and providing each other with a support system. Obviously this mission gets lost in many sorority/fraternity chapters, but I’m incredibly grateful to be a part of a chapter where that mission statement holds true. So I know that most Brown students don’t have the most positive view of Greek life currently, but I guess I write in hopes of trying to pry away the stigma that surrounds Greek life. Believe me, I never would have thought that I would be in this position. Greek life seemed like such a silly idea to me back then. Sorority life, from the outside, it’s hard to understand and from the inside, it’s hard to explain.

So if you’re a student at Brown or a prospective student reading this, give Greek life a chance. It’s not to say that many of the stereotypes don’t ring true for certain Greek houses at certain schools, but I have only had positive experiences with the Greek life at Brown.

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

One thought on “Wise Fools: Update on Sorority Life

Leave a Reply

