Pride and Prejudice: Events are Everywhere

meditationHello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest.

One of most convenient aspects of Brown’s extracurricular sphere can be found through the beautiful innovations of Brown Morning Mail and the Listserv email service. Now, for those prospective students taking the time to read this post, I would first like to thank you. Secondly, I understand that you may not know what these are. So, allow me to just briefly explain.

Morning Mail is a daily email sent to undergraduate students that lists all relevant announcements and upcoming events at Brown. While many people tend to overlook it, I always try to, at the very least, skim through it, considering I’m always awake when it arrives at one in the morning.

Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 8.36.47 AM

While Brown Morning Mail is automatically sent to all undergraduate students, the Listserv software is a little different. To put it simply, if there is a group or activity that you’re interested in, you will most likely be able to sign up for their listserv emails. I believe there are a few organizations or groups that don’t have an established listserv. However, even in those rare cases, I assure you that it’s never very difficult to get in touch with those who can help you get involved. In the majority of cases, signing up for a listserv is exceptionally easy and quick. After doing so, you will receive any email that the group sends through the listserv, which usually entails any information about future meetings and events.

 Screen Shot 2015-02-21 at 8.59.11 AM

I understand that this post may seem like some technical support article for Brown’s online services but I promise I have a point. There are so many conveniences allotted to Brown students that make it so easy to get involved. In fact, it was because I took the initiative to sign up to as many listservs as I felt applied to me that I am even aware of half of the events I attend.

As I hinted at in last week’s post, I attended the first meeting for Brown’s LGBTQ Meditation Sangha, which I first heard about through the Queer Alliance’s listerv. I was able to meet incredible people and explore a practice that I never before had the opportunity to try. I am so grateful for the experience and I look forward to future meetings.

Brown provides so many outlets and avenues for expression that it would seem almost unreasonable for one to not find something that suited their interests. All you need to do is utilize the resources available and take a chance. You may just come to find that that “first meeting” will not be your last.

Spoiler Alert: Thanks to this week’s Morning Mail, I’m now planning on going to the Queer Alliance’s First-Year Kickoff. I’m very excited for this kind of event, one that finally brings together the LGBTQ and first-year communities at Brown. So if everything goes according to plan, you will be hearing about that next week.

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

