He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Study Groups

FullSizeRender

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

One of the things quite unique about dorm life is that you can form study groups anywhere and anytime. You are literally with your peers 24/7. Along with all the fun that comes with it, they can help you go through some of the toughest times of the college experience. I have met a lot of people who told me they chose Brown because of its collaborative environment and that atmosphere really is one of their favorite aspects of the Brown community. I couldn’t agree more.

One of the things I’ve been trying to improve on since September, and haven’t quite gotten the hang of it, is to wake up earlier in the weekends. My roommate knows my habits of grumpily waking up to my alarm, going back to bed, and hastily waking up to check what time it is. Regardless of when I wake up or when I leave my room, however, I always know that I can go to Andrews Commons and find my friends chatting/studying/eating in one of the study rooms. Unless we have any special events, we usually end up spending the afternoon and evening there, whether doing homework, writing a paper or ranting about exams. And we can somehow talk, eat and work simultaneously. Our group doesn’t have a set number of people nor are we studying for the same class. But we still motivate each other while sometimes getting derailed in the oddest ways possible. We once fought over whether to pour milk before and after the cereal or how to correctly pronounce “pecan.”

But those are not all. Some are actually there to help each other get through the class. A few people from our hall formed a small group for Math 0180. We meet regularly to do homework, check each other’s work and review for exams. Not surprisingly, I find myself to be much more productive in a group setting. The best part is, we are not bound by class period to do collaborative work as we used to be in high school. It can happen anywhere and anytime, whether that is the hallway, someone’s room, the lounge, library or a dining hall.

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

 

Leave a Reply

