Snapshots of Brown: List Art Center

IMG_2171
A work in List Art Center. Check out http://www.brown.edu/campus-life/arts/bell-gallery/exhibitions/2015-nceca-biennial for artist information!

Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

Today, my Crusaders and Cathedrals history course (which I highly recommend) got moved to List Art Center. When I first got the email, I sighed and dejectedly set my alarm for an hour earlier. Yes, it does take me around 25 minutes (walking at a normal, non-New Yorker pace) to get all the way from my dorm to List. Admittedly, that is my fault for living in the furthest possible dorm from campus on the east side, so I have to admit fault there. However, I got an unexpected surprise upon arrival at List: a new art display! Since I’ve been focusing so much on myself in these posts, I figured I would show you some of the pieces that caught my eye and talk a little bit about art at Brown. 

With such close proximity to RISD, Brown students do have several ways to get involved with the art school, from visiting the museum and art supply store, to actually taking courses with RISD students. Each year, the Photography course is opened up through a lottery to Brown students, with no prerequisites. Although I’ve signed up each year, I’ve never been offered a spot. I’ll keep trying though!

IMG_2173
Another interesting piece- I think this one is my favorite currently on display. See http://www.brown.edu/campus-life/arts/bell-gallery/exhibitions/2015-nceca-biennial for the artist information!

However, if you take Visual Arts 100 (VISA100), you are able to take many more courses at RISD without having to negotiate a lottery system. Or, you can contact a professor directly if you are interested in working with them or have previous experience with their medium.

IMG_2172
This piece starts on the ground and wraps around the ceiling (I couldn’t get a good angle to show the full effect, sorry!). My favorite part is the way this piece allows you to interact with it. Check out http://www.brown.edu/campus-life/arts/bell-gallery/exhibitions/2015-nceca-biennial for artist info.

Another great thing about the List Art Center is the staircase- I was rushing to a discussion section and didn’t have to use the staircase today, but in the future I will take a photo and post it to the Twitter. In the past, Brown has hosted student artist nights, where people can listen to music and free paint in the stairwell, regardless of experience. The exhibits frequently change, and a cappella groups often use the auditorium in list for performances,  so you get to see two cool pieces of art at Brown for the price of one!

Want more snapshots and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

