A Fresh View: A Three Day Week?

I captured a photo of a beautiful sunset from J. Walter Wilson.
I captured a photo of a beautiful sunset from J. Walter Wilson.

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

Did y’all have short weeks as well? Because of the long weekend, there were only three school days for us, but it was a still fairly action-packed week. The Long Weekend unfortunately ended up not being as productive as hoped, but I tell myself to not be so hard on myself because I will always feel that there’s more that could be accomplished.

The highlight of my week was probably meeting with Provost Colvin for my Undergraduate Council of Students (UCS) Campus Life committee meeting. For the past two weeks or so, we have been discussing and preparing for the presentation for the meeting by discussing various students’ frustrations with the dining experience, especially by combing through wtfbrown.com, which UCS recently launched, so Brown students can voice their opinions on what to fix. The meeting went smoothly, and the Provost was very receptive to our points, which I thought was awesome. At one point during the meeting, she asked about a point that I had suggested in the presentation, and I was slightly nervous; I am proud of myself for being able to explain my point coherently.

My friends and I were eagerly awaiting to devour our crepes.
My friends and I were eagerly awaiting to devour our crepes.

Last night was my floormate’s birthday, so we trekked to Thayer Street, which is a street that runs through campus and offers various dining and shopping options, to eat crepes. Because of some misunderstanding, we ended up receiving an extra crepe for free!

FullSizeRender (2)

Afterwards, I attended Fusion Dance Company’s Spring Show. My floormate and I attended to support our Residential Peer Leader (Brown lingo for RA, or Resident Assistant/Advisor). The entire show was amazing, as the dancers were incredibly talented and passionate. At a wonderful school at which everyone is incredibly talented, I am often in awe and intimidated by my peers. However, being surrounded by my impressive peers also pushes me to strive to be the best I can, and discover my strengths along the way. I appreciate this environment because I am honestly inspired every day.

The dreary snow may or may not be contributing to my feelings of laziness, but I am determined to keep chugging along. Please wish me luck on my math midterm next week!

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

