Pride and Prejudice: Out of Your Comfort Zone

bdfsjkbdfsj

Hello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest.

Sometimes, certain circumstances will absolutely take you by surprise and there is no conceivable way that you can prepare for their repercussions. My second semester of my freshman year has only just begun and things have continued to change. In less than two months, I am totally aware, now more than ever, that I am not the same person I was even in my first semester. I’ve learned to adapt, even to circumstances I never thought I would have to face. While many of these changes have in fact been for the better, I cannot say that all of them fall under this description.

We all face adversity at some point in our lives and eventually we realize that obstacles can find us wherever we are. However, I’m actually quite grateful for the less than favorable experiences that have transpired over the last month or so. I say this because I now feel more adept at adjusting. I’m stronger, as well as braver. I’m more inclined to step out of my comfort zone and take the risks I would have never even considered a few years ago.

Now when I say risks, I definitely don’t mean that I’ve been scaling buildings or anything like that.  I said that I was taking risks, not suddenly granted with amazing coordination and agility. All I mean is that I’m now actively keeping an open mind about certain opportunities that I know I probably would have scoffed at a few years ago. It wasn’t that I was close-minded but rather, more hesitant than anything. In many instances, I no longer find this to be the case.

Now, if I see something that catches my eye, I’m more inclined to jump at the opportunity. I realize now that if something fascinates or interests you, take a chance and see if you actually enjoy it. What’s the harm? There’s nothing wrong with just going to the first meeting or attending an info session. You never know the opportunities you might be giving up just by assuming that they aren’t right for you.

Just in case you might have entertained the thought that I wasn’t walking the walk, within the last few weeks, I have signed up to receive emails for weekly Tae Kwan Do and the Brown/RISD Coffee Society. Although, in all honesty, the slight registration fee for Tae Kwan Do is something I now have to consider and the Coffee Society isn’t really outside of my immediate interests.

The point is that there is something very liberating and exciting about taking a leap of faith and just trying that one thing you thought wasn’t worth your time. You never know what you might fall in love with.

P.S. I’m also putting forth my best efforts toward being an active member of the LGBTQ community here at Brown. In fact, this Thursday, I’m going to the first meeting for Brown’s Meditation Community LGBTQ Sangha. Interesting combination I know. It caught my eye and I’m going to check it out. Just to give you all some foreshadowing about my next post…

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

