He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Keeney Perspectives

BRU4509_Keeney_courtyard2Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Since I live on the Pembroke campus, I know that my posts have mostly, if not always, revolved around Pembroke/Morriss. For a change, and to give you a fuller picture of dorm life at Brown as a freshman, I asked my friend Abby who lives in Keeney what life on the south side of campus is like.

Now I know that this is only one person’s perspective and others from Keeney may have different views about these issues. Still, I thought it would be much better to get an insider’s point of view than for me to list facts about Keeney you can easily Google online. I will try to do these more often, whether that is interviewing more people from Keeney or getting tips from people who have gone through housing lottery already.

Where do you live in Keeney?
I live on the second (ground) floor of Everett House.

Can you tell us about the culture/social life at Keeney?
The cultural/social life at Keeney is, from what I’ve experienced, pretty low-key. The social functions are mostly small parties, and I don’t really think there’s a cultural life at Keeney quad. Arnold lounge is meant to be a socializing place, but it’s hard to do so seeing as it also serves as a studying place and therefore making noise is frowned upon.

How are the lounges/bathrooms/kitchens? (Facilities in general?)
Arnold Lounge is great, and the bathrooms I’d say are tolerable. We get hot showers at any rate–the kitchens are tidy and have great facilities as well.

What are the pros?
The pros are that in my case, I get a pretty roomy double, with a wall between my roommate and me so we get semi-privacy. It’s also fairly close to the Main Green and Ratty, so that gives me some convenience.

Are there any cons?
The cons are that there’s not much of a social scene, and there are no water dispensers! The fire alarm used to ring really often, which was annoying, but now that’s thankfully stopped.

How much do you interact with/see people from Pembroke?
Pretty regularly, seeing that most of my friends live on Pembroke. I go to Andrews a lot because I have classes at Smitty B.

Hope this helps!
Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

