Blogside Manner: Some Extras

I wish Providence was still like this... SO MUCH SNOW. (Arjun Narayen Photography, https://www.facebook.com/ArjunNarayenPhotography)
I wish Providence was still like this… SO MUCH SNOW.
(Arjun Narayen Photography, https://www.facebook.com/ArjunNarayenPhotography)

Hello! I’m Lulu, a member of the PLME class of 2018/2022, and I am the writer for Blogside Manner. In this column, I will talk about the ins and outs of PLME life at Brown and, of course, the dreaded application process. Whether or not you decide to ultimately apply for PLME, I hope to help provide you with a better sense of what Brown is all about!

Hello all! So sorry that I didn’t have a post out last week, but here I am again! I hope all of you had a fabulous Valentine’s Day. It’s hard to believe that we’re already into week 5 of the semester; with all of the snow days, it feels like we’ve only just got back. Today’s article is going to be a bit brief (got an orgo test coming up), so let’s get to it!

I only just realized that while you’ve heard about the extracurriculars of a bunch of my PLME friends that I’ve interviewed, I’ve never really talked about my own, which is what I’ll be writing on today. Aside from this blog, I currently do swing dancing, teaching sexual education to middle schoolers with the Alpert Medical School, participate occasionally in PLME Congress, and starting soon, I will be a sciences tour guide. Yes… this is a rather short list, and I admit that I am not the most active PLME (that’s one of the big perks of being in this program: you can be as active as you want).

Since it is kind of a PLME exclusive club, I’ll take a moment to go a bit into PLME Congress. This is the PLME student group that basically works as a mini-student government. It has representatives that go to the medical school congress, or med school student government, to better integrate the two and help alert us to events and opportunities offered by the medical school that wouldn’t usually appear in Morning Mail. In addition, PLME Congress does a broad range of things such as selling PLME apparel, keeping the PLME textbook selling list updated, managing volunteers in a variety of medical related positions, and sponsoring PLME class bonding activities that can range from ice cream and movies to a full social.

Something I love that PLME Congress also organizes is the Whole Patient program, which I’ve touched on last semester. This is a unique program that brings in a practicing doctor and one of their patients, who give a presentation about medical care from both the provider and the receiver points of view. The great thing about Whole Patient is that it really shows the importance of interpersonal relationships in medicine in a way that most pre-medical students will not have the chance to experience. And of course, there is food from the faculty club (remember bread pudding?).

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at can_cao@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll make sure to respond as soon as I can!

2 thoughts on “Blogside Manner: Some Extras

  1. Hello Blogside Manner,
    I’ve really enjoyed reading your rather informative posts. I just wanted to inquire about the binding nature of the PLME program. I understand that a PLME gives up his/her seat once he/she applies to other medical schools, but does this also hold true for other graduate schools such as masters programs. Will the PLME allow a student to get a masters in financial engineering, for example, for two years after undergrad and still allow the student to matriculate to Alpert the following year?
    Thank you,
    -Farhan Salman

  2. Hi Farhan,

    As far as I know, you can pursue any two year of shorter endeavor, including academic, during the Flex Years. I have heard of people taking the time off to complete an MBA, MPA, MPH, you name it. I assume that you would be able to enroll in any type of two year or less masters program. Losing your spot only applies if you intended to not enroll at Alpert Med and attend a different medical school because you would then have defeated the purpose of PLME and have essentially taken a coveted spot from some other high schooler who would have stayed in the PLME for the full 8-10 years as expected.

    Side note: I am pretty sure you can capitalize on Flex anytime after the first year, not just after undergrad. However, most people who take time do it after undergrad and the rest typically do it in Medical School.

    Best,
    Catherine Nacier

    I’m the current writer for Blogside Manner, sorry I’m not Lulu 😦

Leave a Reply

