A Fresh View: Treat Yo’Self

FullSizeRender

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

Once again, I’ve had a fairly stressful week, even though the extra snow day helped me study and catch up. I understand that I have to balance out work and play; I know that I have to rejuvenate so that I don’t burn out or become overwhelmed with my course load and extracurricular activities. Last semester, I didn’t have as much need to treat myself, because I had the tendency to not stay focused for long periods of time. But, because I think I can push myself more this semester, I’ve been pretty tough on myself.

So, starting Thursday night, I’ve started to treat myself. To relax and enjoy myself, I’ve been watching episodes of Zoey 101 and eating delicious cookies. Zoey 101 was my favorite show in my tween years, and I recently stumbled upon full episodes on YouTube. After watching the first episode, I was overcome with nostalgia. The Southern California setting of the show also distracts me from the bleak masses of snow outside.

This weekend is fortunately four days long, marked as the Long Weekend on our academic calendar. My plan is to continue to treat myself to Zoey 101 episodes on Saturday, but then be productive the rest of the weekend. Also, I recently haven’t been able to sleep well; I have difficulty falling asleep, but wake up tired, so I’ve decided to catch up on sleep over this weekend.

My game plan is to have a lazy day of treating myself today, sleep in tomorrow, and then hammer out the first draft of my summer internship application. I am feeling thankful for this weekend because it will help me rest, recharge, catch up, and prepare myself for the next week or so. Fortunately, the Zoey 101 episodes are approximately 22 minutes each, so if I need some quick study breaks, they’ll be there for me.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

