Snapshots of Brown: Game Night!

ABBS GAMESWelcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

When I came to Brown, I had very little experience with gaming systems. I never played video games as a kid, so playing Mario Brothers and other Wii games challenged me. My friends understood how to emulate a Nintendo to their computers and put it on our TV- the very concept baffled me. So now, three years and countless gaming experiences later, I’m somewhat competent at Smash Bros., proficient at Mario Kart, and fairly solid at Settlers of Catan. So what happens on a snowy evening, when there is little homework leading up to a long weekend? Game night! 

While normally we play tech-enhanced games, either on a computer or through a console, my roommates and I also love playing card strategy games. I’m not talking about a regular card deck, either. These are real deal games (and bonus: they appeal to the political science/medieval history courses I’ve taken!).

My favorite games are by a game maker called Steve Jackson- Illuminati and Munchkin are great games (and a great way to bring out the competitive spirit among a group. I’d recommend knowing people pretty well before getting into the ‘cheat’ rules). Of course, Cards Against Humanity is a staple (and created by Brown alums!), while a new game called Carcassonne has recently entered our rotation.

The thing I love most about playing games is the simplicity of spending time with friends. These aren’t (for the most part) intensely challenging games- they’re easy enough to follow, and there is enough down time to have a full conversation throughout. Add a little sleep deprivation and the need to relax after a hard week, and it can be a really fun way to relax.

Dorms aren’t the only places where you can find an outlet for your gaming needs. The Tech House, located on Wriston Quad, often hosts game nights and other events (they recently held a Nerf war!). Other groups that provide students with sober weekend events offer game nights that attract many students as well. No matter how and when you want to play, there are ways to have fun!

Want more snapshots and FAQ updates? Check out @thebruinclub on Twitter! Have questions or comments for me? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

