On the Brown Low: Thrift ’til you Drop

saversEver wonder what there is to do once you step off Brown’s campus? Curious about what Providence has to offer? On the Brown Low will be your faithful guide! Be sure to check in every week with us, Lily Hartmann and Brianna Lambert, to find out about the best spots around Providence and Rhode Island!

What’s up, people? The semester has just started, but you wouldn’t guess that by the way people talk about the amount of work they have accumulated. I too have fallen victim to piles and piles of readings and problem sets. At this point, I’m pretty sure I have seen the inside of the SciLi more than I have seen some of my friends. Don’t worry though! I did get to see the outside world through the best way possible: a little retail therapy.

Shopping is one of my favorite activities, but I don’t really have the means to do it very often seeing as how I’m probably going to have to sell my first born in order to pay for books. What’s a shopping addict to do? Go thrifting of course! Luckily for me, Rhode Island has a chain of thrift stores called Savers. There are multiple locations that aren’t too far from Brown’s campus. Lily and I went to the Savers in East Providence (which I’ve heard is the best one), taking the RIPTA route 78 to get there.

creepy cat statueOne of the weirder finds…

Let me just say that Savers is a magical place. It has all of the thrift store clothing goodness you could ever look for, with racks and racks of sweaters, vests, and other items. It even has a really good home section with full sets of dinnerware and a large number of books. If I take a literature class next semester I’ll definitely check Savers for books first! Both Lily and I ended up getting a couple of sweaters for less than ten dollars each.

Moral of the story: spare your first born by shopping at Savers

See you next week!

Brianna

Curious about something in Providence that we haven’t covered? Shoot either Brianna or me an email (lily_hartmann@brown.edu or brianna_lambert@brown.edu) and let us know what we should explore in our next post.

 

 

Leave a Reply

