Wise Fools: Concentration Declarations. Yikes.

Processed with VSCOcam with p5 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Welcome back! I’m so incredibly excited to start the second semester as your sophomore blogger for Wise Fools! Say hello to CHRISTHY 2.0! **This is actually how you spell my name because my parents messed up the spelling on my birth certificate. Whoops. Thx Calvin & Nancy.

So quick update on my life, I had a bundle of fun after being home with my family for one whole month without any academic obligations. I worked on charcoal portraits, practiced German and Spanish on Rosetta Stone, finished watching Game of Thrones (for those of you that watch, you know that this show is mindblowingly amazing), and hung out with my lovely Keeshond of a dog, Neil. Look how adorable he is. ❤

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

So it’s the second semester of my sophomore slumpey year, and so far, the spring semester has been better than the fall semester. I’m still taking some pretty difficult classes, but I have actually switched concentrations–going from Biomedical Engineering to Biochemistry. I think that this was an inevitable action on my part; it just took a while because the thought of diverging from my ten-year-plan was too scary for me. And I think that I simply stayed in engineering because I had no idea what else I would study and the fear of not knowing was too much for me. But college is honestly the place for things like this to happen. College students switch their concentrations all the time. Leading up to making the switch, I got great advising from my BME concentration advisor, and he made me realize that maybe engineering wasn’t where my heart was.

At Brown, concentration declarations are a burden that fall upon second semester sophomores. April 1st is the deadline for concentration declarations this year. The process of declaring is filling out a form online, confirming when you plan to take certain classes in the upcoming years and writing a tidbit on your plans for your academic future/career. It’s pretty easy to declare, but how does one know if they’re declaring the right concentration for themselves?

Well, from my personal experience, I concluded that maybe I shouldn’t declare as an engineering concentrator when I realized that all of the classes that I was taking made me incredibly miserable. I didn’t feel passionate about all of the physics I was learning, and I found going to class to be a drag. I came to realize that I enjoyed BME because I really enjoy biology and chemistry but really hated the physics behind it. I didn’t feel passionate or intrigued by learning the laws of electricity and magnetism and decided that engineering wasn’t my cup of tea. I mean, I liked Biology and Chemistry; therefore, Biochemistry seemed like a good fit as a concentration. I arranged to meet with my BME advisor to discuss the switch and find myself much happier this second semester. *cue the sighs of relief as everyone is overjoyed that they no longer have to listen to my complaining*

Lessons Learned:

  1. Declaring and changing. Don’t be afraid to change your concentration or explore other options. I put off switching from engineering for weeks before actually doing it simply out of fear of not knowing.
  1. WATCH THE SUPERBOWL. Today is SUPERBOWL DAY. And if you know me at all, then you know that I’m a huge Patriots fan (in spirit, not so much in physical size). There’s an ESPN documentary on Tom Brady called “The Brady Six.” Not only have I watched this at least ten times now, I’ve made many of my close friends watch it as well. Currently, I am a bundle of nerves right now out of fear as to what will happen. This game is, and I’m not joking at all, a determinant of my happiness level for the next month. Normally, I don’t mind the Seahawks at all and actually find them to be a great team. Today, I want nothing more than for them to lose by a blowout.
  2. PLAY IN THE SNOW. Go sledding! It makes me incredibly nostalgic because it was something that I did so often as a child since I basically grew up in Antarctica (Syracuse, NY, same thing). **Disclaimer: I am not responsible if you injure yourself during said sledding because I know that I fell down the hill a lot while sledding and ouch.** A few days ago, the winter storm, Juno, hit Rhode Island, and school was cancelled. This was pretty exciting because I had a sleepover with my friends where we played FIFA, listened to French/Spanish/German music, went sledding, and built snow people.

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

