Music to My Ears: ¸¸.•*¨*•♫

7290412c6a13545bebb9bdb0215f4ceb2e19d419b47f97f5e1b0e57d30a40995

Hey y’all! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your sophomore correspondent forMusic to My Ears, my personal outlet that showcases what Brown’s music scene has to offer!

Hello and welcome back! Hopefully your break was well spent with some hot chocolate, a snuggly blanket, and a really great book/movie.

I’ve titled this post as so because the semester’s just started and not too many things (musically) are happening yet. But it’s always important to start and end on a good note, so I guess that’s how it came about.

Orchestra rehearsals started the second day of classes, but were cancelled on Tuesday because of Juno, the blizzard. This semester, our repertoire list consists of Philip Glass’s Symphony No. 2, Nielsen’s Saga-Dream, and Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto No. 2 performed by the winner of the 2014 Concerto Competition, Luke Pane. I’ll have to admit I’ve never really listened to Philip Glass’s music before; now having rehearsed some of it with the orchestra, I’d have to describe it as very minimalist. Reading his music is actually a workout for my brain because I will lose my spot on the page if I don’t focus!

I just came back from my first string quartet rehearsal and it was wonderful! We read the final movement of Mendelssohn’s String Quartet No. 2, and are in the process of planning a performance to play the entire string quartet sometime in March at the RISD Museum. But Eimi, that’s a museum. Yup! There’s one room in the museum with blue walls just covered in paintings, and small music groups perform there all the time! Although you’ll have some space for a formal audience, the best part about it is the floaters who initially are there just looking around for the artwork but end up becoming audience members too.

We’re also in the process of selecting another string quartet to play (picture above is how I feel about this process). Right now in the running are Ravel, a Mozart, and a Beethoven string quartet, but it’s all up in the air. Let me know if you guys have any suggestions!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

