He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: No classes? Snow way!!

Blog 12

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Welcome back! I hope everyone had a nice, relaxing break. This winter, I stayed in Los Angeles instead of going back to Korea. Although I missed Korea a lot, I had a great time waking up super late, catching up on reading, eating good food and basking in the California sun.

Speaking of weather, Providence had a bit of a snowstorm
this week as you may have seen on the news. Everyone had a chance to catch up on sleep thanks to classes being cancelled on Tuesday. I was just thankful the snowstorm didn’t come a week earlier when I first came back on campus, which is a whole another story (and which I will talk about on my next post). 

Coming from the Midwest, a “snow day” is not that unfamiliar. We even had “cold days” back in Chicago where temperatures went way below zero and schools closed even without the snow. Still, it was the first snow day I ever had in college. We were in dorms instead of our homes, which of course made the occasion both extra challenging and extra fun.

Naively thinking that all dining halls and eateries would still be open despite classes being cancelled, I did not stock up on food. Thankfully a friend from Champlin who is also from Korea invited me over for lunch, and we had a really nice feast full of Korean comfort food. Also, my roommate was kind enough to share with me.

Blog 12-1

But, of course, the fun part about a day like that is to go out. College Hill is called a hill for a reason, and people found plenty of places to have snowball fights, go sledding with some very creative ideas for sleds (plastic trays, anyone?), and more. Others, like me, stayed indoors with hot tea catching up with friends and staying warm. Either way, it was a nice (and unexpected) break from shopping classes and trying to get back in the school mode.

Wherever you are, stay warm!

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

