Blogside Manner: Year One, Round Two

SO COLD OUTSIDE
SO COLD OUTSIDE

Hello! I’m Lulu, a member of the PLME class of 2018/2022, and I am the writer for Blogside Manner. In this column, I will talk about the ins and outs of PLME life at Brown and, of course, the dreaded application process. Whether or not you decide to ultimately apply for PLME, I hope to help provide you with a better sense of what Brown is all about!

Hello and welcome back from break! I congratulate all of the new PLME early decision admits this year (if any of you read this, hit me up! I’m lonely and cold, and I promise I don’t bite)! I also wish the rest of you regular decision applicants the best of luck. Either way, isn’t it fantastic to be done with apps? Enjoy the peace!

Today’s post is going to mostly be about me, but here’s a general note that I would have liked to have know when I was in the post-app college-requesting interviews phase. Don’t stress the interviews, even if they go badly; just treat them as a time to learn more about a college you are interested in attending!

But back to me. As a native of the warmer temperatures, I was not ready for real snow coming back to Providence, but I was ready for classes to start again. More specifically, I was ready to beg and cry my way into classes in which I was not registered, a process that commonly occurs during the wondrous shopping period.

Shopping period is about the first week of any semester where a student can add or drop any class without university penalties, or the period where students can try out classes until they find their ideal schedule. For some of my peers, shopping period is a nightmare; this is understandable, especially for those who are trying to get into classes with 12 seats and a mile long waitlist. Personally, though, I love shopping period despite the semi-constant disappointment of not getting into the classes I want (I am still on the waitlist for like 10 classes, but at least I got into 2 classes on my shopping list! Pretty solid turn out, to be honest).

I think the freedom of taking more or less whatever you want as a PLME makes shopping period a very interesting time. I have shopped engineering classes (even though I haven’t taken any of the prerequisites), visual arts classes, English classes, and even an Egyptology class. Currently, I am registered for Organic Chemistry, Linear Algebra, Introduction to Poetry, Principles of Economics, and Foundations Media. I am actually really hoping to get this architectural design class; we’ll see what happens!

I hope all of you stay warm!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at can_cao@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll make sure to respond as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

