Snapshots of Brown: And We’re Back!

IMG_2132
Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look…

As you can see, Providence has had a little bit of winter weather (my friends and I made an igloo on the Main Green!). While it is definitely chilly outside, inside… well, everyone is already feverishly working away. But, you think, school started only a week ago! Let me give you a little insight into the craziness that this semester has already become: 

1. Getting back on campus means getting prepared for classes, and of course, catching up with friends that were gone over break. For a Computer Science Head Teaching Assistant, this means arriving early to work anywhere between six to nine hours a day, preparing course material, designing grading rubrics, and completing projects for the upcoming semester. This also means trying to effectively plan work and course development time around seeing friends that have come back from studying abroad.

2. Doing errands. For me, this means getting myself to the grocery store, signing up for (and paying for) my Market Share, making several deposits to different student groups, and getting my paperwork together for the Chorus tour to Cuba over spring break (I’ll be sure to post more about that as we go along!).

3. Shopping classes. This is a biggie. I started the semester totally dead-set on what I was going to take: a nice distribution of International Relations and History courses, one nice Religious Studies course to keep up my morale. However, slowly things have started to chip away. The IR courses I wanted to take keep getting cancelled; the History seminar I expected to take looks much less appealing now that I have the syllabus. A course I have wanted to take since freshman year is now available. A Computer Science seminar, which looks appealing but I’ve heard mixed reviews of, is registered for me. Never have I ever had to do this much shopping, and spend so much time angst-ing over my course schedule. Coupled with an LSAT course starting later this semester, I have a full academic plate.

4. My first (somewhat) professional publication is coming out! I have had the opportunity to collaborate with an education-based cybersecurity organization to produce a blog post, which should be released next week! To say I’m excited is a slight understatement. However, this leads to a bigger picture: internships, and applications. Since before classes even started, I’ve been working on getting my resume up to snuff, drafting cover letters and attempting to network. It is not easy.

5. Homework! Even though it is shopping period, professors still expect that if you plan to take their course, you will come to classes during shopping period prepared, with readings done, and ready to go. For me, this presents a dilemma I’ve never experienced. Usually, I just stock up on books (Amazon Prime for the win), and begin immediately. However, with two of my five courses up in the air, I have considerable need to wait before buying textbooks. Thankfully, for my religious studies class, I’ve read the introductory material already for a different course. For the rest… not so much. Thankfully Juno knocked out a day of class 🙂

6. Have you ever tried to navigate around following a blizzard? If not, then I assure you, it’s difficult. The roads are being cleared slowly but surely, and sadly, many of my favorite shortcuts remain piled in snow. Sure, it is beautiful. But that slushy, soggy mess definitely means extra time!

Have questions about what it is like to head back to school, or general questions about anything I’ve mentioned above? Feel free to get in to contact with me at any time! Also feel free to Tweet me @thebruinclub and I’ll get back to you!

Have questions or comments? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

