Wise Fools: Spreading Holiday Cheer

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

Hello loyal fan base! Welcome back!

Soooooo, finals week is coming up next week, and everyone around me has turned into a bundle of nerves.

Humanities Kids: “PAPERS. PAPERS. SO MANY PAPERS. MUCH READING. I GOTTA GO WRITE ABOUT THE MEANING OF LIFE.”

STEM Kids: “EXAMS. LAB REPORTS. THREE EXAMS IN ONE DAY. CS PROJECTS. GAHHH.”

I have already started building my stockpile of caffeine sources and exam week snacks. And every day, I spend more time in the Sci-Li than I do in my own bed (Yes, even including sleeping time). It’s a nerve-wracking time for all as our knowledge of course material is put to the test with incredibly difficult exams. However, I’ve written enough in previous posts about the rigor of academics at Brown, so I’ll stop talking about how terrified I am for finals week starting NOW.

Now that it’s December, THE HOLIDAYS ARE COMING. I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling 22 but I am a bundle of holiday joy. I’m incredibly excited for the upcoming holidays and have started online shopping for ugly holiday sweaters. I have also been capitalizing on the Starbucks holiday lattes as if it’s my job.

I like to go a little over the top with holidays while I’m at university because it just makes the mundane aspects of college a bit more fun. There are a multitude of holiday lights hanging around my room, and I have the Michael Buble and the Beach Boys holiday CDs playing on repeat. I’m not religious, but my family and I celebrate Christmas as a cultural thing. I also see Christmas as a  great way to show those around you that you care by giving them something fun/special. I also absolutely LOVE shopping, and I especially enjoy getting fun gifts for my friends and family. Spoiler alert: I’m planning on getting my entire family a bunch of quarter zip Brown sweaters so we can have a weirdly uniform holiday card photo. I’m currently scavenging the internet for Brown university dog apparel instead of studying for finals… So that’s good.

This week has been pretty stressful but also incredibly fun as there have been a lot of holiday-themed events on campus. I encourage all of you to take part in the inclusive and non-denominational holiday events to lift your spirits and give you a study break from finals! I’ve been decorating and gobbling cookies and chugging hot chocolate (DISCLAIMER: Some hyperbole may have been used and no one should try to recreate this incredibly dangerous action). I hope you all find ways to spread your holiday cheer, whether it be getting funny, little gifts for friends, awfully singing every holiday song you know, or wearing really ugly holiday sweaters.

Lessons Learned:

1). Do Secret (Santa)/*insert name of non-denominational gift giver here* with your friends! They don’t have to be super expensive/nice gifts but gift exchanges are just a nice way to get and receive a little something from those around you. We did a huge gift exchange within my sophomore dorm (the cover photo is a picture of the gifts I received) and it was really cool because a lot of people bought gifts for people they didn’t initially know but then got to know really well in the process!

2). This finals week, TAKE CARE OF YOURSELF. Staying up until ridiculous hours will only hurt you in the long run. Your brain will be tired, and you won’t be thinking right. Be sure to get a good night’s rest for the two days leading up to your exam!

3). If you don’t kill a final, don’t stress. What’s done is done and the minute you walk out of that exam room or turn in your final paper, it’s all out of your hands. If you realize that you made a silly mistake, forget about it. There’s nothing you can do now, so don’t get hung up on it!

4). Regardless of your grades, you are all brilliant, amazing, and talented people! Your worth shouldn’t be contingent on your exam grades! But with that said, best of luck with finals and final papers!

So, as you guys may know, this is my last post of the semester (BOOOOO, WHAT WILL I DO WITH MY LIFE NOW THAT THIS IS ENDING??). I want to thank you all so much for reading and giving me a chance to share my university experience with you guys! It has been a pleasure to write for you all every week, and I hope you’ve enjoyed reading my articles as much as I have enjoyed writing them for you all. I hope that I’ve given you some insight to what it’s like to struggle with the slump as a sophomore at Brown and Happy Holidays to all!

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week Much love and appreciation for my readers,

Christy

Leave a Reply

