He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Reading Period

nerd teddy bear

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

With most classes having officially ended, today marks the beginning of Reading Period (aka intense cramming week). I myself have a 15-page paper, a take-home exam and two big finals. The 15-page paper worries me, mainly because I haven’t really begun, but I should be thankful that I only have to write one.

Reading Period is miserable and relaxing at the same time. It is one of very few times of the year when you can stay in your room 24/7 and never see sunlight for a week if you really want to. Since there are no morning classes, pulling an all-nighter, waking up at 2pm, and going to bed at 5am is perfectly acceptable. There are usually no more club meetings or any other extracurricular commitments. At the same time, most people would rather be doing club activities and meeting friends than being in their dorm rooms or the library all day.

But don’t worry, there is always something going on, both inside and outside the dorm walls.

Unit movie nights and huddling up in the hall to study together remind us that we are not alone in this not-so-fun process. From the infamous Naked Donut Run to Candyland (they have not one but two chocolate fountains) to library pizza and waffle nights, there are plethora of opportunities to gain that remaining few pounds to achieve freshman 15 — I mean to clear your heard during this stressful week.

I am sad and excited to see my first semester in college coming to an end. I can’t wait to see my family, especially since I didn’t see them during Thanksgiving, but will miss the Brown campus and Morriss Hall (however unattractive it is) terribly. I hope you all have a wonderful winter break.

Happy Holidays!

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

