Hungry As a Bear: Brunch Adventures

IMG_2727

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat. I’m your friendly first-year foodie, originally from marvelous Michigan. If you’ve ever wondered what the dining scene is like at Brown University, look no further than Hungry As a Bear. I’m here to share the scoop on all things delicious both at Brown and around Providence. Dig in!

If you’ve read any of my other posts, you’ll know that breakfast is arguably my favorite meal of the day. There’s also nothing I appreciate more than a good diner breakfast, and if you’re looking for a little weekend adventure and a cozy brunch spot, I have just the place for you. Keep reading to find out more!

When I came to Brown, I wanted to familiarize myself with campus life as much as possible, but I was determined to get to know Providence, too. This has manifested as random weekend explorations whenever I get the chance. Sometimes they’re simply a walk to the park or a trip to the farmers’ market, but other times they’re little treats like this–breakfast at Three Sisters, a notable Providence restaurant and ice creamery.

The shop is about a ten or fifteen minute bus ride north on the RIPTA 1 bus from Thayer Street (it takes you past the Brown football stadium too, if you’ve never seen it!). Disembark right after the park where the Hope Street Farmers’ Market takes place in the fall, and it’s just a short one minute walk from the bus stop. The restaurant is cozy, with wood paneling and cheery decor. Order at the counter just inside the entrance, then grab a seat and your food will be brought out to you.

My breakfast companion and I both ordered “The Rise,” which consisted of two eggs, two slices of toast, and homefries. The food was delicious, and it set us back around only $4. Afterwards, we took a walk around the area to work off some of the food, then returned to the restaurant for some of their famous ice cream. I opted for green tea and kulfi (their award-winning combination of cardamom, cinnamon, and pistachios in an almond ice cream), and my friend tried the dirty garden mint (another famous flavor) and coffee crunch. They were delicious, even on a chilly fall day.

All in all, the trip was a nice step away from campus for a few hours and a culinary delight. Highly recommended!

Until next time,

Michelle

Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Just want to chat? Send me an email at michelle_zabat@brown.edu

Leave a Reply

