A Fresh View: Brown Lovin’

IMG_0467
Here is a picture showcasing the beauty of autumn leaves and Sayles Hall, which is on the Main Green.

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

My first semester at Brown is coming to a close, which I find bittersweet: I am proud of myself for surviving and thriving here, but I also feel that the past few months flew by way too quickly. I’d like to write out what I’ve been thankful for and enjoyed this past semester in this post.

I appreciate:

  • The friends I have made: One of my biggest concerns coming to college was that I would have difficulty making friends, as I would be thrown into an environment in which I didn’t know anybody (this applies to everybody for the most part). However, I have discovered that I had no reason to be anxious, as my peers at Brown are incredibly friendly. Once in a while, I remember that I have only known my friends here for about three months, and it baffles me because we have gotten so close, and already have a multitude of inside jokes.
  • The professors and courses that have expanded my mind: This semester was the first time in my life that I could select any course that I was interested in without having to consider requirements (thank you, Open Curriculum). In my personal experience in high school, there was a linear track in each subject that determined the courses I would take that year, and I am so grateful that that was not the case for me this semester. I have learned so much, but I have also unlearned so much as well: the preconceived notions and social constructs that had been reinforced my whole life were broken down for me in my Introduction to Social Psychology and Crime and the City courses. The access I have to brilliant faculty has allowed me to learn how to view the world differently than I had been seeing it for the past eighteen years.
  • The resources available for us: I had been told on college campus tours and information sessions that there are plenty of resources to help students stay afloat in college, but I was a little skeptical. I am proud to announce that I am no longer a skeptic. Over the past few months, I have received advice, assistance, and kind words from those I reached out to for whatever reason, including for my eye infection, help in editing papers, further explanation of course material, a community to discuss sensitive and important issues, assistance in editing a resume, and advice in course selection.
  • The coffee milk in the Ratty (Brown terminology for the dining hall, Sharpe Refectory): Coffee milk is a delicious sweet drink that is the official state drink of Rhode Island, and Brown University Dining Services (BUDS) has designated one of the milk dispensers for coffee milk as of a few days ago. Drinking copious amounts of it, which I am planning to do from now on, is probably unhealthy, but luckily there is a salad bar, at which I can find healthy veggies to counter the sugary goodness of the coffee milk, next to the drink dispensers.

I cannot thank the supportive and nurturing community here enough; I love Brown.

Good luck with finals, gift shopping, and college applications. Happy holidays!

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

 

Leave a Reply

