On the Brown Low: So am I a RISD Student Now?

IMG_0967Ever wonder what there is to do once you step off Brown’s campus? Curious about what Providence has to offer? On the Brown Low will be your faithful guide! Be sure to check in every week with us, Lily Hartmann and Brianna Lambert, to find out about the best spots around Providence and Rhode Island!

Happy (almost) Thanksgiving everyone! I can’t wait to go home and gorge myself on familiar, home-cooked favorites. Because I didn’t want to add to the inevitable five pounds of weight I’m going to put on once I go back home, I decided that it would be best to steer clear of all restaurants in Rhode Island this weekend. Instead, I gave my STEM focused brain a little shock of artistic creativity at the RISD Museum.

One of the great things about Brown’s location is its proximity to the Rhode Island School of Design (RISD). The two schools allow cross registration for classes, access to the different libraries, and have clubs that include both student bodies. This close relationship also means that Brown students can get into the RISD Museum for free all year round (i.e. music to a broke college student’s ears). If you ever want to bring a friend who isn’t from Brown or RISD to the museum, Sundays are also free for the general public.

IMG_0951IMG_0959I’ve actually walked past the museum, which is a quick five minute walk down College Hill, dozens of times when going downtown, but I had never been inside it before this year. Sad, I know, but at least I took the chance to go now. I had no clue what I was going to get from the museum because none of my friends had been either, but I sort of expected it to be completely composed of works from RISD students. To my great surprise, the museum holds a sizable collection of pieces from various time periods, geographical areas, and popular artists. I found myself staring in awe at contemporary paintings and works from the likes of Pablo Picasso, Jackson Pollock, and Roy Lichtenstein among others. The museum was so big that I couldn’t go through it all in this visit.

IMG_0964The RISD Museum is a gem that was hiding right under my nose. Even though I’m far from the artist, I love and appreciate art, and the museum really filled the missing role of art in my life. I’m definitely going to return to see the parts of the museum I missed this time around!

Until next time,

Brianna

Curious about something in Providence that we haven’t covered? Shoot either Brianna or me an email (lily_hartmann@brown.edu or brianna_lambert@brown.edu) and let us know what we should explore in our next post.  

Leave a Reply

