From Albania to Zimbabwe: Thanksgiving

IMG_0551

Hi there! My name is Akira Camargo, a freshman hailing from Tokyo, Japan who will try to crack funny jokes and puns from time to time as I write posts for From Albania to Zimbabwe, the ins and outs of being at Brown from an international student’s perspective. Through my posts, you’ll be able to learn more about all things international here, ranging from international events at Brown (cool guest speakers, festivals and parties) to my thoughts on living in America for the first time (!!!), and a bunch of other interesting stuff as my first year at Brown unfolds. Hope you enjoy reading them!

Hey folks,

I hope November has treating you well. I can’t believe it’s almost over though.

This week is going to be a short post, mostly because I’ve been busy finishing up work before the much-needed Thanksgiving break.

Break starts on Wednesday for us, but many students have been packing up their suitcases early going back to their hometowns, eating turkey and doing the quintessential “American” Thanksgiving traditions, whatever that may be.  

As I said before, living in America is a first for me, so Thanksgiving in America is definitely going to be a first, too. I will be visiting a friend from my high school who now lives in Connecticut for a couple days – which is really exciting! Afterwards, I will make my way to New York, to visit another friend and a bunch of others who are reuniting at the Big Apple. We are planning on eating “authentic” Japanese food because we are all complaining about the lack of good sushi and white rice in our respective college towns. I can’t wait!

Although I wont be returning to Japan for this break, I will be able to recreate a mini-/psuedo- home with my friends from high school this break. I am looking forward to it! For those of you who will go to college from a foreign country, it’s always great to join other international students to have a big thanksgiving feast somewhere. Or, you could even tag along with some of your friends you make here and visit their homes! In any case, you will not feel so left out or isolated during the Thanksgiving break – there will always be someone there to spend time with you.

For example, the Resident Councelors of my floor (unit) hosted a mini-Thanksgiving feast for our floor in one of the lounges in our dorm. The food was SO good (I could eat turkey for days!). There are so many opportunities where people at Brown will try to foster a sense of belonging and community even for international students like myself. I felt so welcomed and enjoyed spending an early Thanksigiving with my floormates.

See you next week!

Akira

If you have any more questions, comments, suggestions of what I should write about or just want to chat, feel free to message me at akira_camargo@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

