Wise Fools: Campus Events

10346631_583728211726314_7482070453068519156_n

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

Hey guys! How goes it? I’m in an awfully chipper mood this week as I will be home with my beloved dog this Wednesday afternoon due to Thanksgiving break. I have my second last midterm this semester tomorrow afternoon. But it’s for my incredibly difficult engineering class in Electricity and Engineering. GAH. This is causing me much stress and I have locked myself in the Sci-Li for multiple six hour intervals in the past few days, but I’m motivating myself with the thought of stuffing my face with Thanksgiving stuffing in the near future.

This week was monstrous as I had two problem sets, a lab report, an exam, and a project all due on Friday. It was awful, but I’m glad it’s over. This week has also been great because campus has been bustling with a lot of activity and I’ve been doing a lot of fun things. Yesterday night, I stayed in with a friend and we ended up just doing work together in his room while listening to vinyl records of British alternative bands. The Kooks and Arctic Monkeys are some of my favourite bands ever, so listening to them on vinyl made engineering homework a bit more bearable.

Campus has also been pretty exciting in the past few weeks as well. When I was a Freshman, I didn’t realize how many different cultural groups we have on campus, but we have A LOT. And the best thing is that these groups are incredibly active and excited to show people various parts of their culture. I’m a part of the Vietnamese Student Association, and we’re in the process of planning a cultural fashion/talent show where we will be showcasing traditional Vietnamese clothing, dances, and musical performances! Last night, there was an event called “Legends of the Sea,” which was put on by the Asian American Heritage Series. A multitude of groups showcased various forms of Asian culture in a variety of performances. There were poetry slam groups, acapella groups, Lion Dance groups, hula dancing, and there was SO MUCH FREE ASIAN FOOD. The previous Wednesday, there was an event in the student center where you could get customized street signs! FOR FREE! A few weeks ago, the German club threw an Oktoberfest, which is a huge holiday that is rambunctiously celebrated in Germany. Then a week after that, they did an event on the Main Green where they had people spray paint a wall that they brought in. This event ended with the participants destroying the wall to celebrate the fall of the Berlin Wall. On Friday, the Asian American Student Association threw a fancy formal/gala where everyone got dressed up, danced, and stuffed their face with free food. This is my personal form of heaven because I don’t know about you, but I’m feeling twenty-two I LOVE free food. It’s also really cool to go to a school where there exists so many different kinds of culture, and I feel incredibly blessed that there are so many opportunities to educate yourself on other cultures. I didn’t really check out all these events on campus that are throwing free things at you and offering you opportunities to become a more worldly person, but as I am a much more sophisticated sophomore now (HAAAAAA), I attended these events, shoveled free food into my stomach, and had a lot of fun watching the variety of performances.

Lessons Learned:

1). Plan movie nights with your friends. They actually are some of the most fun. My friends and I threw a slumber party for one of my friends’ birthday this week. Even though college is one giant slumber party, this slumber party was especially fun because we all slept in one room, baked some brownies, and then watched the movie, Clueless.

2). If you’re having trouble studying and staying focused, change your study place. I move around to three different study place in one day. It’s splendid and the walk from study place to study place is a nice break and breath of fresh air.

3). Call your parents more often. I don’t do it nearly enough and most times, I wait for my parents to call me. I get that you’re busy in college; we all are. But if you can find the time scroll your facebook wall out of procrastination, you should also be able to find the time to call your parents.

Thanks so much for reading, my lovely readers! Come back next week for another update on my survival of the sophomore slump! Have a splendid Thanksgiving break!

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

