Music to My Ears: Brown Bag Concerts

Music 8

Hey y’all! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your sophomore correspondent forMusic to My Ears, my personal outlet that showcases the different facets that Brown’s music scene has to offer!

If you haven’t inferred by now, the Brown Music Department is pretty awesome. In the 2 and 1/2 semesters I’ve been here, I’ve had so many great experiences performing various musical pieces at various venues with various musicians, opportunities that I didn’t think I would have had anywhere else.

I recognize, however, that while I’m not a music concentrator, many of these experiences come from my involvement in the orchestra and chamber music performance, 2 performance ensemble-turned-classes that are pretty big time commitments. The orchestra rehearses about 6 hours every week and in weeks with recordings and concerts, that number can double. Chamber music takes up a minimum of 2 hours with practice and coaching, but that’s a minimum.

How can I engage myself with Brown’s music community without being a concentrator or being in a performance group? One of the answers to this question is the Brown Bag Concerts that are offered 3-4 times a semester. They’re held at noon in Sayles Hall (usually on a Thursday), and as the name infers, audience members can bring their lunches to eat while watching performances.

As a performer, they’re a super casual, informal, and great way to showcase to the Brown and Providence community your musical talents; as an observer, it’s a great way to see and listen to live classical music for free! Anyone can perform within the Brown community, and performances aren’t limited to just soloists or a particular instrument group. (One of my favorite Brown Bag concert acts was actually a Shostakovich string quartet.) All you need to do to perform is sign up a few weeks in advance; it’s really that easy! Performers range from music concentrators to students who are really busy but love to play music and perform for fun. The concerts are also a great way to interact with the music community at Brown.

So there you have it: just another way that Brown encourages all of a student’s interests (read: Open Curriculum).

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

