He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Breaks!

PembrokeHi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Happy (early) Thanksgiving everyone! It’s that time of the year, when everybody is excited to go home, spend time with friends and family and stuff themselves with turkey and pumpkin pie. It is only a matter of time that we will be hearing Christmas carols on the radio.

But is everybody leaving Brown for home? Not necessarily. Dorms at Brown remain opened during Thanksgiving and spring breaks, although not for winter and summer. A lot of international students choose to stay at Brown during Thanksgiving. In fact, dining halls even serve Thanksgiving dinner for those remaining on campus.

I was originally planning to go to Chicago to visit friends, but given the short break and pricey plane tickets I decided not to. I then was going to remain in Pembroke, but thankfully a friend invited me and my roommate (also an international) to her home in Lexington, MA. We will spend a majority of our time in Boston, which I have visited only once before, so I am super excited.

In all honesty, however, staying at Brown during break can be a great way to catch up and explore Providence. Less people on campus can feel lonelier, but it also can be more relaxing. It is not too uncommon, either. Besides internationals, a lot of students far away from home such as California choose to stay during short breaks.

First semester is almost coming to an end, which means final exams are fast approaching (which I am refusing to think about until after break). It never ceases to amaze me how time flies and saddens me to think that my first semester of college is already finished. At the same time, I do desperately need a break.

Until next time,

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

