On the Brown Low: Bubble Tea House

bubble tea house

Ever wonder what there is to do once you step off Brown’s campus? Curious about what Providence has to offer? On the Brown Low will be your faithful guide! Be sure to check in every week with us, Lily Hartmann and Brianna Lambert, to find out about the best spots around Providence and Rhode Island!

Guess who’s back! After a week and a half of pure torture at the hands of midterms, I can thankfully say I made it through mostly unscathed. This weekend I took a lot of time for self care (read: sitting and doing absolutely nothing) and treating myself for making it thus far. To end my somewhat extravagant weekend, I returned to Federal Hill to pick up a sweet treat – bubble tea!

Now I know you might be thinking, hey I thought Federal Hill was all Italian food. While it is true that it is mostly known for its plethora of Italian restaurants, Federal Hill also has a lot of other options to offer, including Bubble Tea House on Westminster Street. This tea shop has had a couple of name changes, so it was a bit confusing to confirm if it actually existed, but my friend Lindsey and I really wanted bubble tea and decided the risk to find out if it did was worth it.

Just like last week, we hit a bit of a snafu with our plans, which I swear wasn’t my fault this time. We decided to take the RIPTA 92 up to Federal Hill, but a couple of my friends were running late. Unfortunately for them, the RIPTA waits for no one and they missed the bus. Sunday buses can run fairly far apart time wise, so Lindsey and I had to make the tough choice to leave them behind. Once we got to the stop on Federal Hill, we had to make a ten minute walk to Bubble Tea House. Walking there was…interesting to say the least. Neither Lindsey nor myself had been on that side of Federal Hill before and had no clue where we were really going, but we made it!

boba teaBubble Tea House has a friendly, open atmosphere. The walls are brightly colored, and cute, colorful paper lanterns hung from the ceilings. It has an extensive menu of drinks, smoothies, and different varieties of bobba to put into the drinks. I got a matcha green tea smoothie with boba and Lindsey got a mango green tea. Both drinks were delicious! Cold bubble tea is a little out of place for this cold weather for some people, but I would daresay Bubble Tea House is worth it even now. The shop had a place for frozen yogurt, which was closed when we went, but is open in the summer. I could see Bubble Tea House being a staple for me if I ever stay in Providence for the summer!

Don’t forget to treat yo’ self every once in a while!

Brianna

Curious about something in Providence that we haven’t covered? Shoot either Brianna or me an email (lily_hartmann@brown.edu or brianna_lambert@brown.edu) and let us know what we should explore in our next post.  

 

Leave a Reply

