Wise Fools: Sophomore Solitude

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

Hey guys!

Lately, life has been incredibly stressful (WHOA. SHOCKER), as is to be expected. Finals are looming in the near future, I have three important midterm exams before finals week, and I am terrified as I start studying away for them. I’m still a bit sick, and I don’t feel a hundred percent yet but ’tis life.

With schoolwork picking up for everyone, my friends and I have been on very different schedules these past few weeks. This has resulted in very little time spent with my friends for me. When I want to get dinner, they’re in class, and when they want to get dinner, I’m in Orgo problem session. And lately, I’ve found myself doing a lot of things in my own company. Now, after reading my lengthy blog posts each week, you guys are well aware about how much I like to talk. Additionally, I am incredibly social and love being surrounded by people. I used to be one of those people that was so scared of doing anything by myself that I would just avoid any task that required me to be alone altogether.

Nowadays, I find myself doing most things by myself simply because I don’t have the time to coordinate with friends. Freshman year, you’re very anxious about sitting alone, scared that someone you know will spot you and think you’re a loser with no friends (WHICH I’M TOTALLY NOT). Sophomore year, you don’t have time to care. You strut into the ratty, get your bowl of oatmeal, and the minute you sit down, you whip out your computer and get started on some assignment.

This year, I would say that most of the time, I’m alone, but I’m not lonely. That’s a weird discovery that I’ve made about Sophomore year. Whenever I was by myself Freshman year, I would immediately realize it and develop a paranoia that everyone around me was noticing that I was by myself and silently judging me for it. Now, breakfast is the only meal that I eat with other humans, and it’s simply because we all have to start our days early due to classes. I walk to classes by myself. I go to the gym alone. I go to the library and study in solitude, and I grab most meals at whatever time I can spare a few minutes.

Being alone and doing things by yourself is nothing to be self-conscious about. I’ve found that I feel much more independent and confident when I do things by myself. I’m ridiculously more efficient because I don’t spend time waiting for people or looking to coordinate with others. I don’t get distracted when I study, and I don’t have to worry about   bothering others when I sing aloud during studying.

Lessons Learned:

1).  Consider getting a fish or a plant. Although most pets are banned at Brown, FISH ARE ALLOWED, and I have two fish, a goldfish and a Beta fish. I know they’re just fish, but it’s actually pretty nice to know that something requires your existence, and I’ve grown quite attached to my fish. I’m also currently on the market for a nice succulent to spruce things up in my room.

2). If there’s something you want to do, but you have to do it alone, just do it. The more time you spend alone, the more okay with it you will become. You’ll stop feeling self-conscious about it and learn to enjoy the little time that you have to yourself in college. Solitude opens the door for reflection and is absolutely splendid.

3). Starbucks has started serving its winter holiday drinks. I think we all know what this means.

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

