He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Morning Classes

resized_success-kid-meme-generator-slept-at-4-a-m-still-woke-up-for-morning-class-f0c44c

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be.

Sleep: something we all need, but something we are always deprived of. For a lot of people, including myself, the most difficult part of the day is waking up in the morning and dragging themselves to class. For those who have 9 a.m classes every day like I do, the process is even more painful. I admit, I’ve had my share of days in which I woke up at 8:45, somehow made myself look presentable in ten to fifteen minutes and frantically ran down Thayer street.

The amount of trouble I have waking up surprised me, since I used to wake up much earlier in high school. We were supposed to be in class by 8:50, earlier if I had to see a teacher or had meetings. Now, I have trouble even getting to class by 9. As the days get colder, I cant resist staying in bed even when I am awake.

A large part of this is because attendance in college is “optional.” There’s no one taking attendance like in high school, especially in big lecture classes. You could technically pass a course without going to a single class as long as you do well on exams and turn in homework, but I highly advise against that. But when you stayed up until 4 am and notice that it is 40 degrees outside, you cannot help but think, “I could still make it through with missing one class.”

As a result, I’ve developed some ways to get myself up and going, even after a night of heavy cramming:

Obnoxious alarms: My alarm clock makes the loudest, most annoying sound ever, like that of a fire alarm. It freaked my roommate out so much when she first heard it. Honestly, I think it still does. But that also means it’s quite effective. After finding myself turning the alarm off and going back to sleep, I’ve started setting an additional alarm on my phone. By the time I turn off both of them, I’m too annoyed to go back to sleep.

Roomies: When either of us is waking up early to finish work or pulling an all-nighter, we ask to wake each other up. After all, it’s nicer to help each other out and share the pain.

But really, the best and healthiest way is to manage time wisely and go to bed early (aka not 3 am). It’s something I still need to work on; there’s simply so much to do at Brown! But I guess I’m still learning, but college life is worth the effort.

Until next week,

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

