A Fresh View: Dorm Improvements

Please welcome the newest additions to my room: my "couch" and my tea kettle.
Please welcome the newest additions to my room: my “couch” and my tea kettle.

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

When I first moved into my dorm, I thought that I had brought enough decorations and essentials and such to last me throughout my freshman year. I also kind of had the mindset that I wouldn’t care too much about what my dorm is like, since I’m only staying here for about eight months. I have been here for a little over two months, and I don’t possess this mindset anymore; I’ve decided that I want to add a few more items to my room. I think it’s now significantly cooler than my room back in Texas.

I have my friends over in my room from time to time, and we had usually been sitting on the carpet or the bed, but I realized that I have a perfect spot in my room to put a dorm sofa. I have been in rooms that have two-seater foldable couches, so it inspired me to consider obtaining one for my room. So, after taking my neuroscience midterm last week, I ordered a dorm sofa online as a treat to myself. It was well worth the struggle of hauling it back with my dear friend from J. Walter Wilson (a building on campus that houses mail services amongst other things), as my friends and I greatly enjoy the new comfortably fluffy addition to my room. I’m actually writing this post while I’m cozily ensconced in my couch. In a week, my couch has already served as a place to nap, relax, hold my clothing, study, and hang out. Now that I study on my couch, it has cleared space on my desk (where I used to study sometimes), and I can use the less cluttered surface for other purposes, such as placing food.

My tea-loving mom raised me to be a tea-lover as well. Though the dining halls have tea, I started to miss drinking tea whenever I wanted to. I jealously admired the convenience of my floormates’ electric tea kettles, and though they kindly made me tea, I still wanted my own kettle, so I could enjoy tea even at odd hours of the night. The tea kettle very recently and aptly arrived along with a care package from my parents that contained tea, so I invited my floormates over for a tea party. Tea is conducive for late night conversations (sometimes gossip), and I’ve already put the kettle to use for this reason several times. I’ve also been making tea for myself, and I prefer that to drinking water (especially since the temperature dropped significantly in the past few days). Having hot water readily available is convenient for other reasons as well; I visited Health Services today for a possible eye infection, and the doctor ordered me to put a warm washcloth on my eye before putting in eye drops. Now that I have my electric tea kettle, I can easily prepare hot water to pour onto a washcloth.

Have a nice weekend, y’all! I’m now going to make myself a steaming cup of tea and continue with my homework in the comfort of my dorm.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

