Wise Fools: I’m really happy I chose Brown

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

Why Brown? It’s the age old question that has sparked multiple blog posts. It was even a question on the Brown supplement for the Common App when I applied! This week, I’ve had a very rough couple of days, but these struggles have made me appreciate the fact that I go to Brown so much more.

During my senior year of high school, I struggled to decide to which college I should apply early. I ended up choosing UChicago, from which I got deferred.  At the time, this was an incredibly heart-breaking and disappointing moment for me, but after attending Brown, I am incredibly happy that I was deferred from UChicago. Now, don’t get me wrong; UChicago is an AMAZING university. The problem is that I wanted UChicago for the wrong reasons. I was drawn to its big name and its medical school’s even bigger name. I didn’t know much about it other than the fact that it has an amazing medical school.

The even harder part of senior year was deciding where to attend university once I heard back. I got into some pretty cool places, Brown included, and was terrified of making the wrong decision and subjecting myself to four years of misery. Everyone that I talked to about my struggle in deciding simply said “You’re so lucky! You got accepted to a lot of great schools! You can’t go wrong no matter what you choose!” And while this is probably true, I don’t think that I would have been as happy had I decided to go anywhere but Brown.

As members of my loyal fan base (yes, this is supposed to be a joke) may know, I didn’t write a blog post last weekend. I, once again, had seven days of Hell that included three midterms, two problem sets, a laboratory report, and a paper. But even though this week of Hell was incredibly stressful, I realized that I was really happy to endure it at Brown. Brown has a very laid-back atmosphere. While it still has incredibly rigorous academics, it isn’t a cut-throat academic environment, but rather a collaborative one. Coming from a competitive high school, I really appreciate that my friends at Brown aren’t asking about my grades and my every test score.

Another great thing about Brown is that most of its classes begin at 9am or later. There are those rare classes that begin at 8:30am, but they are few in number and 8:30am isn’t too shabby either! I have friends at other universities whom have their engineering classes at 7am. This is quite the tragedy for them. Furthermore, as a student living on campus at Brown, you will have a great support system via the peer residential advisors that live with you. These residential advisors are rigorously trained in a two-week long program to learn how to help students in college. As an incoming Freshman, you get THREE of them-a Residential Peer Advisor, a Minority Peer Counselor, and a Womens’ Counselor! Brown provides its students so many resources and for this, I am inexplicably grateful.

As I write this week’s post, I’m actually laying sick in my bed with the flu. I also have an Electricity and Magnetism exam tomorrow at 10am. But after talking to my community advisor (Brown resource!), I was advised to go to Health Services, where the doctor gave me a note, asking my professors to make academic accommodations for me this week, after seeing how ill I was.

It’s moments like these that make me realized that I’m incredibly happy to go to a school whre the administration understands that we’re only human. Brown’s academics are incredibly rigorous, and there are many days where I’m ripping my hair out. But I have never felt pitted against my friends in a competitive environment. Everyone here is brilliant and willing to help out their friends. Brown also offers its students a plethora of resources that make suffering through midterms, finals, and papers much more doable.

Lessons Learned:

1). For all you prospective students reading this, think deeply about what you want from a university. Yes, Brown is a very attractive university for its ivy-league status and well-known name, but I especially appreciate the open-curriculum, non-cutthroat academic environment, and the kind of students that it attracts and accepts.

2). Brown offers its students so many resources. Take advantage of them! We have the Writing Center, the Academic Resource Center, our amazing group of Residential Peer Leaders, Minority Peer Counselors, and our Women’s Counselors!

Thank you so much for reading! Come back next Sunday for a new post!

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

 

 

Leave a Reply

