A Fresh View: Fitness is Good-ness

IMG_0610
Here’s a peek of Bigelow, which is the satellite facility that I work out in.

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

I had heard of the infamous Freshman Fifteen long before I had even looked at a college application. I often crave junk food, so I was very conscious of that myth. Furthermore, since I would have autonomy over what I eat and purchase, I thought that I might stock up on popcorn and continuously consume it non-stop. I decided to get into the habit of exercising regularly during the summer before I came to Brown, so that I could be prepared to work out at college. Before, I thought that I had to exercise for hours for it to benefit me, but over the summer, I learned that a focused thirty-minute workout is better than a long unfocused workout riddled with breaks. Though I have not been sticking to my original plan of working out multiple times per week (oops), I think I have definitely been reaping the benefits of fitness. Working out in college (or in any situation) can be difficult, and as difficult as exercising is at the time, but I have never regretted a workout (yet?).

There are several gyms across campus. The main recreational facility is Nelson Fitness Center, and there are three Satellite Facilities: Bear’s Lair, Bigelow, and Emery. I always work out in Bigelow, as it is conveniently close to my dorm room; it is a mere few steps from one of the exits in my hallway. I am fairly satisfied with the assortment, selection, and number of machines and weights in the satellite facilities.

Benefits of exercise (in college):

  • Exercising can serve as a study break, and in my experience, it has helped energize me to continue my late-night study sessions.
  • Fitness can release endorphins, which creates positive feelings, and it manages stress levels. Working out during a stressful period of time (like during midterm season) helps calm me down.
  • Even if I have an unproductive day, if I work out, I feel a little better about my unproductiveness (this unfortunately happens often).
  • After working out, I also tend to sleep better, and good sleep is valuable in college.
  • Sometimes I run into my friends in the gym, so I get to catch up with them while stretching or taking a water break.

I think working out is a fairly important aspect of college (at least it has been for me). However, I believe that the trek around campus to and from classes, dining halls, dorms, etc, is good enough to count as a workout, especially with the slopes of College Hill.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

 

Leave a Reply

