A Fresh View: Happy Halloween!

IMG_0525Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

Happy Halloween! To the prospective students who are reading this, I hope the application process has been going well. Good luck to the early decision applicants whose applications are due today!

I was very excited for my first Halloween at college. One of my friends and I decided to begin our Halloween by attending the spectacular Poler Bears’ Halloween Show (the Poler Bears are according to their Facebook page, the “Ivy League’s first pole dancing troupe”). There were not too many costumes at this time, but the night was still young.

I dressed up as a cupcake. I bought this costume online my sophomore year of high school, and I have decided to wear it every Halloween.

IMG_0529
Me with Danny Zuko from Grease

My friends and I decided to meet around 9:30. However, two of my friends had computer science projects due at 10 PM; one of my friends had submitted at 7 PM, and slept soundly until I asked her roommate to wake her up, and another one of my friends did not leave the Watson Center for Information Technology (the location where the Brown Department of Computer Science is located, affectionately called the CIT) until around 10. Though our Halloween outing was delayed a little, I did not mind. We eventually left my friend’s dorm around 10:40 after taking several group photos. I ran into many other people in the dorms, and I was quite impressed with the enthusiasm people have for Halloween. There were so many impressive costumes!

After dancing for a while, my friends and I stumbled upon the Halloween event that the Technology House hosted. There was a live band and many delicious homemade treats. Around midnight, my friends and I decided to head back to her dorm room to relax by watching movies, eating popcorn, and drinking tea. We watched two movies that were not that wonderful (let’s just say that they received poor ratings on Rotten Tomatoes), and a stand-up comedy show. Around 5 AM, we decided to disband and thus end our first college Halloween.

I am happy with how I enjoyed Halloween, but now I must face the reality of the second wave of midterm exams.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

 

Leave a Reply

