On the Brown Low: Wonders on Wickenden

IMG_0753Ever wonder what there is to do once you step off Brown’s campus? Curious about what Providence has to offer? On the Brown Low will be your faithful guide! Be sure to check in every week with us, Lily Hartmann and Brianna Lambert, to find out about the best spots around Providence and Rhode Island!

This weekend hundreds of parents, siblings, and other family members descended upon Brown for a few days of fun and performances. Even though my family didn’t visit this year, I still got caught up in all of the activities Brown had to offer and almost didn’t see a reason to go off campus. Never fear though! It may have taken some real convincing (especially since my partner in crime Lily couldn’t come this week), but I would never let you all down! This time around I looked a little closer to home to find some off campus delights: Wickenden Street.

Wickenden is basically the older, hipster brother of Thayer St. The street is lined with small cafes and coffee shops, vintage stores, a certain snuggery that shall go unnamed, art stores, and a host of other types of shops. What’s more is it’s only about a 10 minute walk from Wriston Quad.

I ended up dragging a friend to come explore with me. We spent most of our time at Coffee Exchange, getting some work done while sipping on drinks. My friend got an iced mocha while I got a chai spice cider, which was spicy and delicious. While I love studying at the Blue Room, Brown’s version of a cafe, Coffee Exchange was a great change of scenery. The atmosphere was comforting, yet still lent itself to productivity. Plus the music playing in the background was pretty great. I’ll definitely be going back sometime soon!

Coffee ExchangeAfter we had our fill of studying, my friend and I took to exploring the rest of Wickenden. Unfortunately, a lot of the stores had closed early since it was a Sunday, but we were able to stop in a few cool places. We went into a fish aquarium store that had all sorts of colorful aquatic animals. Then we went into a shop that had all sorts of ornaments, blown glass, and mugs. Eventually we came what we thought was a natural stopping point: the George M Cohan Statue. Do I have any idea who that is? Nope, but the statue was really cool so I thought I would mention it. I’ll figure out who he was eventually.

Wickenden 10:26All in all, Wickenden is a pretty cute street. If you’re ever in need of some good coffee or quirky shops, Wickenden is the place to be.

See ya next week!

Brianna

 Curious about something in Providence that we haven’t covered? Shoot either Brianna or me an email (lily_hartmann@brown.edu or brianna_lambert@brown.edu) and let us know what we should explore in our next post.  

 

Leave a Reply

