Wise Fools: Friendship After Freshman Year

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Hey guys!

You’re probably wondering why I’m such a flake of a human being and why this post is one whole day late (Jk, none of you care when my blog gets posted and I’m just telling myself that you guys care to fluff my ego).

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

Anywho, the reason for the delayed post is due to the fact that this week, I struggled to find something to write about for all of you guys. This week was relatively stress-free (I use the term “relatively stress-free” loosely as I still had a lot to do but wasn’t drowning in an absurd number of midterms, lab reports, or problem sets this week). Life was delightful compared to previous weeks; thus, I was left with nothing to rant about in my blog. How tragic. Do cry for me. Sooo, what did I do with all this splendid free time?

I was a social butterfly! It was nice to not be pulling my hair out at every second due to stress. With all this free time, I actually spent a lot of time with a bunch of my friends and realized how much I had neglected to do this in the previous weeks. As a sophomore, you live with those that you chose to have in your housing group. This means that you don’t really see friends outside of your housing group unless they coincidentally end up living in your building or you actually make an effort to see them. Let me just say that as a Freshman, I put in a lot of effort to see friends/acquaintances and meet new people every day. As a sophomore, if you don’t live in my building, I am usually too lazy to see you and will most likely have Netflix replace you in my heart.

But with this previous week being more laid-back, I made a lot of plans to see close friends whom don’t live in my building. I got coffee, had lunch, had dinner, and even went out to karaoke with the friends whom I had neglected to see. It was super nice to sit down with those whom I hadn’t seen all semester and catch up on their lives. I was able to differentiate the people with whom I hang out, and I had a lot of really fun, interesting conversations because it had been so long since we had all spoken.

Socializing is very stress-relieving for me, and it was nice to have a week where I could blissfully bask in the presence of my friends. This past week, I spent five hours a day in the room of my besties, Tim and Sam! (Fun fact that you don’t really care about: They live in Emma Watson’s old room! ERMAHGERD.) Here, I gobbled chocolate-covered almonds, took ugly selfies with them, and cried many tears (Don’t worry. When I laugh too hard, I often burst into tears. It’s weird but amusing to watch). I also caught up with old friends with whom I lived with during Freshman year. We basked in the sunny, 75 degree Providence weather while all laying on a blanket on the Main Green. We didn’t talk about schoolwork, exams, or other stressful things in our lives. We simply laid there, listened to peaceful music, and talked about things we were looking forward to in the week. For two whole hours, I did absolutely no work and simply enjoyed the presence of those around me. It was pure bliss… Just like the taste of Pumpkin Spice lattes. I know, I know. You probably just gagged. Stop judging me. They’re REALLY GOOD.

This week was a great reminder of what college is really all about: BINGE-WATCHING NETFLIX  the college environment and the cool people you meet during your time here. Most weeks in college are stressful and make you doubt your intellectual capability. So when you can, appreciate the people around you and have interesting conversations with the brilliant people that surround you.

Lessons Learned:

1). Make a point to grab meals with old friends. I cannot stress the importance of this enough. Everyone has to eat at some point and getting lunch and dinner with friends/acquaintances that you don’t see often is a great way to keep in touch and mix up who you hang out with. I also like to form study circles with my friends where we all sit around and don’t talk as we do our work. This sounds weird, but it’s nice to bask in the presence of your friends as you’re being productive. You know what they say: Misery loves company. And schoolwork DEFINITELY makes me miserable.

2). Join clubs and attend on-campus events! I didn’t really join any clubs as a Freshman because I was too overwhelmed with trying to make the transition, but we’re sophomores now, and we’re slumping hard as this horrible academic year continues. I know that it’s hard to find time to do anything but study, but extra-curriculars are a great way to meet new people and give yourself a break from schoolwork while also being productive. I have been checking out various clubs to meet new people and explore things that I’m interested in. This gives you an excuse to socialize with people without feeling bad because doing extra-curriculars counts as being productive! Events at Brown basically always have free food for attendees. Why. Would. You. Turn. This. Down. What. Is. WRONG. With. You.

So thanks so much for reading once again, my beloved readers! Tune in next Sunday (unless I fall into another pit of writer’s block) for a new blog post!

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

