Blogside Manner: PLME Perspectives, Part II

Untitled

Hello! I’m Lulu, a member of the PLME class of 2018/2022, and I am the writer for Blogside Manner. In this column, I will talk about the ins and outs of PLME life at Brown and, of course, the dreaded application process. Whether or not you decide to ultimately apply for PLME, I hope to help provide you with a better sense of what Brown is all about!

Once again, another perspective on PLME! Here is the second installment of my interview series.

How do you like Brown so far?

I really like it here mainly because of the people. I don’t feel as stressed being here because of PLME; I don’t have to worry about a lot of things other premeds have to worry about, which is super nice. I love my advisors and my meikeljohns. I actually have lunch with some of them every once in a while. I like my classes a lot; I’m taking Latin, a film class, chemistry, and a public health class. My fun class is really random; the good thing about the Open Curriculum is you can do that. My class basically involves reenacting Kill Bill and learning how cameras work. I find it fascinating that I can take that kind of class here even though I’m not going to do any of that later in my life.

What have been your favorite PLME experiences?

When we went rowing, for sure. Empkie’s advising group went to the river, and it was just a great bonding event. I also enjoyed PLME Wars, dodge ball was fun. The ice cream social was pretty great as well. I actually just really like all of the social events; I’m surprised that there were so many. I joined PLME Congress as a freshman representative, so I get to help plan events now. Lulu, you should come to the Halloween movie night! At least go for the smores. (Lulu is most likely not going, because Lulu is a complete wimp when it comes to horror movies).

How have you been taken advantage of being a PLME?

I’m in a lot of clubs. I’m in chess club, Latin club, ping-pong club, and an intramural soccer team. We kind of suck since we haven’t won a soccer match, but it is so much fun, and it’s basically just a social thing. I’m also in the Christian fellowship, and I go to a bunch of the students of color workshops. I really enjoy meeting people through all of these clubs. The main thing I’ve taken advantage of was the freedom in choosing classes; I’m taking only one STEM class, which I don’t think I could have done as a premed. We also have a lot of meiks compared to other people, and I enjoy talking to them.

What advice would you give prospective PLMEs?

If you are for sure interested in medicine, definitely apply. Even if you are kind of not sure, the program isn’t binding, so it’s still a good idea. The great thing about PLME is that you can study whatever you want and explore. Start your essays early; as soon as the prompts come out, just write as much as you can.

A big thanks to my dear fellow PLME for being a good sport and helping me with this interview. I hope all of you enjoyed, and see you next week!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at can_cao@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll make sure to respond as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

