A Fresh View: Single and Ready to Mingle

photo (4)
Welcome to my humble abode, where my cactus and I currently reside.

Hello friends! I am Yuzuka Akasaka, the ineffably ecstatic first-year blogger for A Fresh View. As I happily stumble through the beautiful hot mess that is the first chapter of my college life, I hope y’all will enjoy the Brown experience with me through the blog posts. I am sending love and good vibes to every single one of you from my new home, Providence, Rhode Island. 

All throughout the summer, I was anxious to find out my housing assignment. Would my future roommate and I experience roommate love at first sight? Would we detest each other? I had absolutely no idea what to expect.

When I nervously opened the email from ResLife (Brown terminology for the Office of Residential Life), I was puzzled because the email only listed my dorm building and room number…no roommate was listed. How was I supposed to know who my roommate was? As I scrutinized the posts and comments in the Brown Class of 2018 Facebook group that day, I slowly came to understand that my roommate was not listed because I was not assigned one.

Out of the hundreds of possibilities I imagined about my housing assignment, I never expected to be placed in a single.

I had mixed feelings; I always thought that the traditional college experience was to have a roommate, for better or for worse. However, I was also excited, as I knew that I could have complete autonomy in room décor and scheduling (not having to coordinate sleeping schedules, having friends over, etc. with a roommate). Though I was worried about feeling isolated and having difficulty socializing, I was determined to not let my placement in a single hinder me from making friends.

During about the first two weeks of school, I was intensely crippled by FOMO (fear of missing out), as I thought that every moment I spent alone in my room was a moment I was not out meeting my wonderful new peers and experiencing college to the fullest. However, as my life started settling down, I realized that for me, spending time alone sometimes is important in maintaining balance.

I know that there are pros and cons to both living in a single and in a double, and I love how everything has worked out so far here. I feel that living in a single has made me more responsible for myself, as I have to take care of myself when sick (no roommate to bring me soup), carry my keys with me at all times (no roommate who can let me in), and make sure I am properly stocked on the resources I need (no roommate to share snacks and appliances with). Also, I can have jam sessions in my room without the fear of judgment cast upon my terrible dancing. If I ever do feel a little lonely, a lovely friend is a mere text, Facebook message, or few steps down the hall away.

I recently bought a small cactus on Wriston Quad, and I joke that I finally have a roommate. Despite my initial qualms, I love living in a single.

xoxo,

Yuzuka Akasaka

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for my next blog post, feel free to email me at yuzuka_akasaka@brown.edu. Have a lovely day!

Leave a Reply

