Pride and Prejudice: IvyQ Conference?

IvyQ

Hello Blogosphere! My name is Isaiah Frisbie and I am honored to be the writer for Pride and Prejudice. As a freshman myself, I came to Brown with a number of questions, many of which were answered within a matter of weeks while others remain open-ended. Perhaps one of the more enduring questions, one that may continue to be answered throughout the entirety of my Brown career, is how my own sexuality will affect my college experience. So, I have taken it upon myself to use this blog to contribute any kind of insight that I can about LGBTQ life at Brown and hopefully, in some way, help any student, prospective or otherwise, put some of those nagging worries to rest.

As all of my shameless plugs have asserted, there are numerous opportunities at Brown for LGBTQ students. I’ve said this before in previous posts, but I shall say it again for emphasis! The one promise I made myself during the summer prior to my arrival was that I would become more involved or at least more in-tune with LGBTQ issues.

However, as soon as I got to Brown, I asked myself:

Now what? How do I go about keeping that promise?  

Here’s my piece of advice if you have or envision yourself having the same ambition: SIGN UP FOR THE QA (Queer Alliance) Newsletter! The Queer Alliance will send you a newsletter about every few weeks that contains a number of reminders, updates, and information about various groups and events at Brown that deal with the exact issues I wanted to learn more about.

One day, when I was going through my emails, I saw that I had received one from Queer Alliance, and, reminding myself of the commitment I had made, decided to look into it. I’m so glad that I did. In the email, there was a section about some event called IvyQ. Of course in my ignorance about the event, I read the description and instantly felt compelled to apply.

What is IvyQ exactly? 

It’s a conference that was founded in 2010 that hosts LGBTQ students from all eight Ivy Leagues. Seeing as the best description can only come from the source itself, here is the official IvyQ mission statement:

“IvyQ is a conference which aims to create a pan-Ivy community of LGBTQ students and allies equipped with the skills to examine their identities, value those of others, and understand intersectionality. The steps to achieving this vision are three-fold: creating experiences which foster meaningful and productive social networks; educating students about the history and multiplicity of voices in the LGBTQ movement and the possible trajectories of its future; and empowering all students to feel confident in their identities and their potential to instill positive change in their own lives and the communities they inhabit. IvyQ stresses the acknowledgment and application of privilege for positive and lasting social change for LGBTQ communities.”

Seeing it as a perfect opportunity to keep true to my word, I jumped at the chance to attend and eagerly paid the $32.50 for my ticket. This year, IvyQ will be held at…

DartmouthDartmouth College from November 6th through the 9th and Brown plans to provide transportation for all of its students.

Considering I have never seen Dartmouth, or New Hampshire for that matter, I am so grateful to have had the chance to get a ticket and be able to attend this seemingly amazing conference. Though I don’t much about the actual events of the conference, I am nonetheless thrilled to go and see what I can take away from the experience.

Expect updates and eventually a post about the conference. Oh, I almost forgot. Also expect pictures…MANY PICTURES!

If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions about what I should post next, please don’t hesitate to email me at isaiah_frisbie@brown.edu.

Leave a Reply

