Students of Color Perspectives: Sahil Prasad Interview

photo (1)Hello! I’m Alexis Rodriguez and I will be one of your first-year bloggers for Students of Color Perspectives. I blog my own experiences as a Chicano guy, and I’m super stoked to share what it means to be a student of color in a University named after a color!

It’s impossible to get the full perspective from one student of color. Luckily, I’m a social butterfly… well not really but I have friends who can add their own perspective on the mosaic that is the student of color perspective at Brown. Cue interview: Sahil Prasad

What’s up? 

Nothing much. Just finished doing work, thought I would get some pizza.

Give me the basics.

I was born in Fiji, moved to California when I was six and have lived in Sacramento ever since. I’m a computer science and economics concentrator. I have many interests, spanning from computer science, dance, running, to writing about things I find entertaining(he writes for blog daily herald!).

How was your experience in your hometown being a student of color?

Being a student of color in my community was just like being a normal person. Everyone in the community was very diverse, so I never felt like I was alienated. I knew I was different but it didn’t matter. We were a community united by our differences; what made us different made us one.

Is that any different being at Brown?

There are a less minorities than there was in my community. There was only five white students who graduated from my high school! But it wasn’t hard to get over. I welcomed the experience to opening my eyes to the idea that my community isn’t representative of every community. Brown is amazing!

Has there been any bad experiences at Brown?

I haven’t had any.

Sum up your experience as a student of color in five words.

I am who I am…

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at alexis_rodriguez-camacho@brown.edu!

Until next week,
Alexis

Leave a Reply

