Wise Fools: HELL WEEK & Fall Photos of Brown

10574146_620941124671689_7728680555155293274_n

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Sophomore Slump Survival Update:

To say that I found this past week to be rough would be the understatement of the year. As those who read my blog last week know, I had my Orgo II and Electricity Magnetism midterms in the same week this past week. Yes, these two classes do live up to all of the terrifying things that everyone says about them in terms of difficulty, and being an engineering pre-med, I get to take them BOTH in the SAME SEMESTER! WHOO! LUCKY CHRISTY! Aren’t you all SO JEALOUS?

This past week was definitely the most difficult week of my academic career. I had two midterms, two problem sets, a book to read, and a four hour Orgo lab. I didn’t sleep until 2am for two weeks straight, and I didn’t do anything outside of schoolwork. As you can conclude, life was a bit stressful. I spent most of the week on the verge of tears out of anxiety for my exams and homework deadlines. I didn’t see my friends for days because I was always studying in the Sci-Li. I missed petting bunnies and baby chicks on the Main Green (This event is called “Heavy Petting” and is an event where cute animals are brought on campus for stressed out students to pet). I guess I should have gone to this because I more than qualified as a stressed out student, but I couldn’t bear to take any time off studying. This was obviously a huge mistake. I am so heartless. I don’t know what possessed me to pass up the opportunity to hold baby bunnies. I’m a monster. Whoops.

Because prior to exams, I didn’t have contact with other human beings for weeks on end, I overloaded myself with as much socializing as I could after exams. I hung out with my good friends in my room and talked for hours on end. I skyped my little brothers for an hour. I Facetime’d my dog for a solid ten minutes. Then, when that wasn’t enough, I Facetime’d my good friend from Austria for another hour (Wie gehts Philipp?). Yeah, there was A LOT of talking in my life after exams. After socializing my butt off to make up for lost time, I took time to do things that I loved and took a bunch of university photos this week. No, I will not claim to be a photographer of any kind but when I’m stressed with my STEM and super science-y, engineering classes, I feel the need to do something creative like taking pictures. Also, fall at Brown is unmatched in its beauty. I figured I would share these photos with you guys in case there are any prospective students reading.

These are photos of Pembroke campus which is the northern part of Brown’s campus and also where I lived Freshman year. Aww, memories.

1385857_490382341060902_1327512990_n

969172_490382371060899_84568418_n

Lessons Learned

1). Change your study spots. Brown has so many cool buildings that have various rooms in which you can study. Explore all of the study spots that Brown has to offer and figure out what kind of  academic setting you need. After you’ve established your favourite spots, bounce around these spots when you’re studying. A change of location can be so refreshing and makes you so much more productive.

This building in this photo below is the Granoff Center for the Creative Arts. Apart from being beautifully designed, it also has cool couches and sitting clusters on each floor that are fun to study in. This building is usually pretty empty too, so it can be cool to study in a completely empty building.

576579_490382264394243_775273665_n

2). Take study breaks. After I’ve studied for two hours straight, I like to reward myself, with some socializing time, a Blue Room muffin, an Ivy Room smoothie, or ten minutes of rap music. Don’t burn yourself out. If you go nonstop without breaks, you won’t be as focused, and you’ll grow tired of studying the same subject continuously for so long.

In the center of the photo below, you can see the BEAUTIFUL Sci-Li. No, this is not one of those moments where I’m being sarcastic. Despite popular opinion, I do admire the Sci-Li’s architectural style.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset3). Naps are a small form of heaven. While it may seem that you’re wasting time, you can feel rejuvenated if you nap properly. It was so hard to get to bed at a reasonable hour when I had so much work, and cat naps were the only reason that I was able to stay standing on my feet last week.

4). After a really tough week, treat yourself. Sunday brunch is pretty high up there on my list of favourite things that exist, so I decided to go out to brunch with my friends after the crazy week that I had. We woke up early Sunday morning to make the trek down to Wickenden St., a street five blocks south of Brown’s campus that is filled with cute cafes, restaurants, and fun stores.

This building with the clock tower is Wayland Hall which is a Freshman/Sophomore residential dormitory. It’s also on Wriston Quad which houses a good amount of the sororities and fraternities.

1907762_612446992187769_6808596628296242213_n

Thanks so much for reading, guys! Hopefully your academic years aren’t getting you too down! Come back next Sunday to check out my new post!

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

