Blogside Manner: PLME Perspectives, Episode 1

10710297_835764549807588_1543131006159475182_o

Here are a few of the lovely members of the Class of 2018 at an informal ice cream social that happened in the beginning of the year.

Hello! I’m Lulu, a member of the PLME class of 2018/2022, and I am the writer for Blogside Manner. In this column, I will talk about the ins and outs of PLME life at Brown and, of course, the dreaded application process. Whether or not you decide to ultimately apply for PLME, I hope to help provide you with a better sense of what Brown is all about!

I know some of you are probably tired of reading about me at this point, so this week, I interviewed a fellow PLME freshman about her life so far at Brown. I’ll be doing a few of these throughout the semester to give all of you different views on PLME life and personal experiences with the application process as we approach the application deadlines.

How do you like Brown so far?

I already feel so welcome at Brown; I feel like I am really enjoying my experiences here so far. The atmosphere at Brown is so warm, and my classes are great as well. I’ve made many good friends; so far, my experience has been awesome. I also love how at Brown, you can literally go up to anyone and start a conversation with him or her about anything. Everyone is so interesting that I feel like I should get to know more people so I can take advantage of all of this amazingness.

What have been your favorite PLME experiences?

I really got to know a lot of the PLMEs through the multiple social events. We had an ice cream social where I talked to my advisor a little bit more. My advising group also prepped for the PLME wars after the social, and I was just amazed by the talent of some of the PLMEs. Two people from my advising group made the flag and basically drew a portrait of our advisor on the flag (#TEAMEMPKIE). That kind of showed how multitalented PLME students are. Another experience I loved was the PLME Wars themselves; it was a good way to foster healthy competition between the PLME groups and to learn about all of the different people in this program. The common thread is that I have really enjoyed getting to know my PLME class.

How have you been taken advantage of being a PLME?

I am so excited that I don’t have to take Orgo II! I am taking all of these great classes that I love (I am taking a public health class, a chemistry class, a writing class, and an anthropology class). I think this is something that PLME allowed me to do, which I am very thankful for. I love writing, so I’ve gotten involved in writing for one the arts and culture sections of the Brown Daily Herald, and I am editing for a startup literary magazine. I am going to start teaching kindergarteners through a Swearer Center program. I am also a part of UCAAP, the University Community Academic Advising Program. Finally, I do yoga and watch Youtube videos in my spare time.

What advice would you give prospective PLMEs?

Just be you on the application. Try to emphasize another component of yourself besides medicine and science that PLME will really allow you to explore. Don’t worry too much about your numbers (SAT/GPA/etc); a lot of it has to do with how well rounded you are, and it is a really holistic process. Also, write good essays. It is really important to spend time with them so they showcase who you are as a person and also what your goals are.

A big thanks to my dear fellow PLME for helping me with this interview despite being busy cramming for midterms. I hope all of you enjoyed, and see you next week!

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at can_cao@brown.edu or comment below! I’ll make sure to respond as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

