Hungry As a Bear: Farm Fresh Fall

IMG_1921

Hi there Brunonians! My name is Michelle Zabat. I’m your friendly first-year foodie, originally from marvelous Michigan. If you’ve ever wondered what the dining scene is like at Brown University, look no further than Hungry As a Bear. I’m here to share the scoop on all things delicious both at Brown and around Providence. Dig in!

When it comes to dining, there are so many different delicious choices to choose from all over campus. But did you know that sometimes Brown helps you find food to eat off of College Hill? It’s true! This week, I got to go to Barden Family Farm, an adorable family orchard about thirty minutes from campus. Want to know more about my adventure? Read more after the jump!

Like many of the events for students I hear about, I found out about the apple picking trip through Brown Morning Mail, the daily email digest that contains all the interesting information and exciting events that are happening that day. The Brown/RISD Hillel House had a little blurb about an orchard trip they were hosting–easy to sign up, completely free of charge. The only thing we needed money for was for any fruit we wanted to buy. For someone from the Midwest who was missing her Michigan fall and cider mills (if you don’t have a cider mill where you’re from and you’ve never had real, fresh-pressed cider… it will change your life), it seemed like the perfect fun weekend opportunity. So I rounded up a couple of friends and on a perfectly sunny Sunday afternoon we took a bus over to the farm!

The orchard was filled with delicious things to munch on. Of course, they had the pick-your-own apples (so many different kinds!), peaches, and vegetables on the farmland itself. In some cute little farmhouses though, they sold a variety of different fall treats. There was apple cider, different pies, apple and pumpkin butters, cinnamon sugar doughnuts, honey sticks… The list goes on and on. For someone like me who’s been craving really delicious fresh fruit since I got to campus, it was heaven!

I walked back to the bus with a pint of perfectly sweet, chilled apple cider and ten beautiful Honeycrisp apples (if you’ve never had this variety of apple before, trust me when I say it’s the absolute best). The best part? The entire trip and the apple purchase cost only $10! Now my minifridge is stocked with yummy fall treats. There are so many opportunities to take advantage of on campus, whether academic, social, or culinary. I can’t wait for the next chance I get to sample some of Rhode Island’s finest food!

Michelle

Questions? Comments? Suggestions? Just want to chat? Send me an email at michelle_zabat@brown.edu

Leave a Reply

