Snapshots of Brown: Get Out (of the dorm) When You Can!

Week4

Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

Here’s the deal: there’s a lot going on at school. This week alone, I’ve attended a lecture from a visiting Brazilian professor, viewed a Tango performance, attended a football game, gone to a street fair, and spent countless hours in the CIT coding a project for my computer science class. Heck, the former President of Chile, Richard Lagos, spoke in my class earlier this morning. No wonder I’m exhausted. And yet, I’m thrilled. That’s the fun of attending a school like Brown: not only will you learn to manage your academic time wisely, but you’ll often have classes (like my political science course on Latin America) that require you to attend events around campus to get you involved.

While those academic (Tango is academic, right?) activities can get you out of the dorm and potentially off of the Hill, usually, you leave for one of three reasons:

  1. Boredom (How much does ice skating really cost? In cash? In…. bruises?)
  2. Necessity (Aka, please bring an appropriate winter coat for January…oops)
  3. Curiosity (What is that cute park downtown? Where can I get delicious Portuguese food?)

That sounds pretty basic; maybe it is. All I know is that once the assignments start to pile up, loose change is spent, and snow accumulates, getting out of the dorm and off the Hill is less frequent. This week, I want to show you some of the fun and unique things that Providence has to offer, so join me after the break!

I don’t know about you, but football was a huge part of my high school social experience. I came to Brown from a high school in middle Tennessee, where tail-gating and the SEC conference take up significant time. Most students in my graduating class went to big football schools like University of Alabama or UT. I sang in the choir, so every Friday night, I’d get in for free to sing the National Anthem and then mill around the bleachers, eating crappy concessions and feeling spirited. At Brown, football isn’t a huge deal, although there are definitely fans who follow the team. For special occasions, though, the football team gets quite an audience- this weekend was such an instance.

Football

As you can see, the opposite side is Harvard (boo, Harvard) and they have very little turn out. What you can’t see are the hordes of Brown fans, all waving towels and making noise for the Bears. It brought back some great memories, although my suite mate and I sharing one tiny cup of frozen lemonade because between the two of us we barely had $3 in change was a happily *college* experience.

But, you ask, what if I want to come to Brown specifically to get away from sports-oriented culture? (That makes two of us.) Why not go to a concert?

Sons of Providence

Pictured above are an amazingly talented band of Brown students, Sons of Providence (check them out here). A local art venue, bar, and club called AS220 hosted them at the beginning of the school year. Having the chance to see them onstage was a treat- dorm rooms don’t have the greatest acoustics. Getting off the Hill, especially to see friends, is always a treat. It’s not only Brown students in bands that play- I’ve seen bands like Passion Pit and the Joy Formidable live at clubs downtown too, and plan to see Bob Dylan in November. If bands don’t come to Providence, you can always travel to New York or Boston for cheap.

These aren’t the only things happening in Providence- the picture heading this post shows the new “mini-park” located outside the bookstore, where students can hang out outside and spend time chilling on Thayer Street. There was also a small artisan fair on Thayer Street on Sunday.

Outdoor fairOne of my favorite parts of Providence is the community feel. We have small little bands come out for nearly every street-based occasion, like these arts fairs and the farmer’s markets. This was also a great chance to have little Providence shops come to us- its hard sometimes to get off of the Hill, so having access to local jewelers, artisans, bath and body shops, and food stalls was great.

Have an activity of group you’re curious to see in Providence? Comment or email me and I’ll see if I can grab a pic for you!

Have questions or comments? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

Leave a Reply

