He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: I don’t know about you, but we’re unit 22!

Morriss Hall

Hi there! I’m Seunglee Lee, a first year blogger for He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. For nervous freshmen, including myself, nothing is more exiting yet intimidating than prospects of dorm life. As I navigate through all the fun, hectic and hilarious experiences dorm life at Brown has to offer, I hope to share them with you and hopefully convince you that Brown is the place to be. 

One concern pretty much on every freshman’s mind is, how do I make friends? I was scared by the same question as I first stepped into Brunonia. Well, that’s what units are for! They are there to instill a sense of community and help make close friendships that will make you feel like home.

All freshmen dorms are divided into around 30 units, and each unit consists of around 30 to 50 students. Our group, unit 22, is particularly huge since it consists of second, third and fourth floor of Morriss. The size proved to be a major advantage during unit war (Third place, whoo!). The larger the group, the more likely we will have lots of people with different talents, whether that is answering trivia questions about Brown, tug-of-war, or catching water balloons.

I didn’t know that unit war was such a big deal until general orientation. All units gather on Pembroke Field to play series of games including those I mentioned above, and whichever unit garners the most points win. There is also a unit rally the day before, where we create cheers, make posters and have fun. Ours consisted of silly games, a unicycle and a monkey (our mascot) in a power ranger suit, so yeah it was great. The same freshman unit convenes in the last days of senior year for another unit war, which is supposed to bring back lots of memories.

Now, this post wouldn’t be complete without talking about our beloved Morriss Hall, home to unit 22. I have to admit, my first encounter with Morriss was not a love at first sight moment. When I visited Brown for ADOCH (A Day on College Hill, an event for admitted students in April), our tour guide kindly showed us his room in Keeney Quad, a recently renovated freshman dorm located south of main green. I was so impressed by its nice walls, wide space and walk-in closets.

From then I had this incredibly naive notion that every freshman dorm would be like the ones in Keeney. When I found out that I would live in Pembroke campus, I automatically pictured the beautiful Andrews Hall, or Hotel Andrews as rightfully named. What instead was my home was a red, rather sad-looking building seemingly hidden by the shadows of Andrews, Metcalf and Miller (the three nicest freshman dorms on campus). I wasn’t fond of the cinder-block walls either, and for the first couple of weeks I grew more and more jealous of my friends in Andrews.

But after a while, as I realized there was nothing I could do and might as well accept it, I began noticing more and more bright sides of Morriss. It may not be the prettiest dorm on campus, but it is arguably one of the most convenient ones. Here are some perks of living in Morriss:

  • Semi-private bathrooms: Yes, we have them. And yes, they are a huge blessing. Four people typically share one bathroom, and it is right next to our rooms. We don’t have to walk all the way down the hallway or look for open stalls, which makes life so much easier when we are in a hurry. Plus, it gives us more sense of privacy.
  • Proximity to Thayer: We couldn’t be closer to Thayer Street, which is the place to be for good food and having fun. In fact, CVS, which sells practically everything from food to toiletries to school supplies, is literally two minutes away.
  • FOOD: V-Dub, one of two dining halls on campus, is connected to Morriss through the basement. I can actually see V-Dub out the window as I am writing this post. V-Dub is smaller than the Ratty (the other dining hall) and has less options, but has more quality food in my opinion. Their chicken fingers served only on Fridays are a delicacy at Brown. If you live in Morriss, you don’t even have to go outside to eat, which is a big advantage during winter time. If you ever get tired, you can always go to Andrews Commons, only a three minute walk, or any of the restaurants on Thayer!

And finally and most importantly, the people! I never thought I would become this close with my hallmates in such a short amount of time. I have tons of stories to share already, which I promise I will talk about on my next post. Until next time!

Seunglee

Do you have any questions or comments? Shoot me an email at seung_lee_lee@brown.edu and I’ll get back to you!

Leave a Reply

