The Extras: Dare to Venture

Snapchat-20140920021654

Hello, Brunonian family! I’m Jacklyne Vargas, nice to meet you all *insert imaginary handshakes here*! I’m here to be your compass (well, that sounds heavy, doesn’t it?) in everything extracurricular here at Brown. If you’re reading this, send help you are a magnetic force of your own and I’m simply helping you figure out what attracts you. In all The Extras, in all the magnetic forces here at Brown, you can easily be pulled in countless directions, but I’m here to help! If anything, we’ll go crazy together…

Upwards of four hundred. That’s 400. Four zero zero PLUS extracurriculars. And they all want you. It’s hard to say no, it really is. But, while we all think we’re Superman and Wonder Woman here with our strong-willed and hard working demeanors, we can’t do it all (hate to break it to you).

On the bright side, we do have options here at Brown, and if you love diversity, if you love the multifaceted, if you love being daring, then you’ll honestly love Brown. Even if you’re not daring, you’ll still love Brown. I’ll tell you why.

Because Brown is perfect for the individual, which is comes in all types of different shapes and sizes. The extras here at Brown don’t fit any type of mold, but rather they mold themselves to fit you, whomever you uniquely are.

Let me tell you a little bit about who I uniquely am. I’m Jacklyne, though I prefer to be called Jackie because Jacklyne is too formal. You can also call me Jayquelin, but only if you get the Key & Peele “Substitute Teacher” reference (if you don’t, YouTube it now). I’m planning to concentrate in Political Science here at Brown, though that may change if I decide I hate my life I want to really challenge myself (as if studying at Brown wasn’t enough) and double concentrate in Political Science and Public Policy.

I come from a sunny suburb of Miami, Florida called Hialeah. My family is from Central America, Nicaragua specifically, and I’m a first generation college student. Being a first gen inherently comes with it’s own challenges, but I find that those don’t seem so daunting while at Brown.

I say that because everyone here at Brown has their own narratives to tell. We all come from different backgrounds, ethnicities, races, cultures, etc. but regardless of all that, we all embrace each other’s individuality and form a family with one another. We’ve come to form our own culture of solidarity and acceptance and openness, while still treasuring the idiosyncracies and variety in our midst.

I’ve found that the spectrum of extracurriculars at Brown arose as a manifestation of that diversity in our student body.

With only a couple of sports and a few performance groups here and there, Brown would be limiting its students’ potential and/or capabilities. We have everything from Quidditch, to Swing Dance, to Debate, to tons of (OUTSTANDING) A Capella groups, to Step, to environmental groups, to political forums, and everything else you could possibly imagine… No really. It’s not a sweeping statement; you can found a club you want to be a part of if you get it approved.

Whoever you are, or whoever you want to become, Brown can, and gladly will, enable you to with the resources to do so.

I’m truly honored and blessed to be a blogger for The Bruin Club. As a representative of such an awe-inspiring school, who wouldn’t be? I only aspire to do some justice to the boundless extracurricular opportunities offered here at Brown.

Expect astonishment, fear, and ideally, inspiration, as I venture into the densely populated forest of Brown’s extras. I look forward to your company along the way.

Alles Liebe,

Jackie

Don’t hesitate to leave any questions, comments, frustrations, tirades, rants, chocolates, inquiries or suggestions (I’d love your input) either below or in my email,  jacklyne_vargas@brown.edu! I’m seriously excited to interact with you all… Seriously. Have a delightful day!

Leave a Reply

