Wise Fools: Wait, I’m not a Freshman anymore?

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Hello all! I’m Christy Le, an enthusiastic but slightly sarcastic goofball who will be your second-year blogger for Wise Fools. Follow me on my tumultuous journey as I awkwardly stumble through my Sophomore year and courageously battle the vicious beast best known as “the Sophomore Slump.”

Let me start off by saying how excited I am to be able to share my sophomore year experiences with you guys! My blog will consist of weekly updates about life as a sophomore as well as lessons I’ve learned thus far.

A little background info: I was born and raised in Syracuse, NY, where we’re best known for our ruthless winters and our ridiculously talented basketball team (GO SU!). More recently, Syracuse has gained the glorious title that all institutions of higher education hope to receive: Top Party School in the Country (WHOOHOO. Jk, whoops). I like to read, run, longboard, do yoga, cook, and take pictures. I’m really into film photography and hope to bring you guys a lot of cool photos of Brown’s campus. I like watching Game of Thrones, Arrested Development, and Modern Family. I’m also a pretty big sports fan. Shout out to Arsenal Soccer and the New England Patriots. Fair warning: If you ever say something negative about the New England Patriots to me, our friendship will probably be irreversibly strained for life. Why am I a Patriots fan from NY? Because I’m a smart and reasonable human being. Important people in my life are my two younger brothers (HEY ALEX AND JUSTIN!) and my dog, Neil. He’s a keeshond. Don’t know what that is? Do yourself a favour, take a break from reading this LOVELY blog, and google “Keeshonden puppies” right now (Bonus Tip/Study Break Idea: Youtube videos of Keeshonden puppies will get you through anything; they’re so darn cute!). If your heart didn’t just melt as a result of those searches, then I guess I just don’t trust you.

I’m currently living in a sophomore-housing dorm called Littlefield, which means that my housing group and I are among the victors of the housing lottery as we’re on main campus and everything we could ever need from the university is within a seven-minute walk. Fun fact: Emma Watson also lived in Littlefield during her time at Brown! While Littlefield is a slight downgrade from the luxurious resort and lodge, best known as “Hotel Andrews” that I lived in during my freshman year, I’ll take this time to count my blessings and refrain from any complaints out of respect for those in Perkins.

I’m a Biomedical Engineering and Pre-Med concentrator (YAY! LIFE IS ALWAYS SO FUN AND EASY. LOOK AT ALL THIS FREE TIME I HAVE!), but rest assured, I do have relatively functional social skills. I’m involved with research on campus in the Biomedical Center and am a part of an eclectic collection of student groups on campus. Rather than prattle off things from my resume like a snob, I’ll meaningfully elaborate more on this in a later entry for curious prospective students.

Life Update on my survival of the Sophomore Slump:

It’s two and a half weeks into my sophomore year, and I must say that it feels as though it has been three months. I’m exhausted from the sheer amount of work that I have to do every week and midterms are looming in the near future. I’m no longer that lost, wide-eyed Freshman wandering the Main Green, staring up at all of the buildings and bursting with excitement about finally being in college. I’m not excitedly squealing about all the new friends I made this week or running around campus to attend various social events (Instead, I’m just burying myself in my homework and sobbing sadly to myself in the basement of the Sci-Li. Ha, just kidding. But not really.) I’m a SOPHOMORE now, meaning that I’ve transformed into a bundle of wisdom and sophistication. I now always reach for the left door at Jo’s, I always get Ciabatta bread at the Blue Room to maximize the size of my sandwich, and I do everything in my power to avoid the dining halls at 12pm (This is the time that everyone on campus has collectively decided that they want to eat lunch and thus results in a stampede of people storming the Ratty). Campus is still great, I still love everybody that I meet, and the student body here still stuns me at every moment with their talent. But now I’ve established a great group of friends, always have A LOT OF WORK to do, and appreciate the finer things in life like long naps and late night talking circles. As a Freshman, all I did was wander around campus, look for fun things to do, and worry about making friends. Now, it’s all WORK WORK WORK. Haha, just kidding. Sometimes, I sleep and eat.

Lessons Learned

So two and a half weeks in and I’ve learned:

1). It’s fine if you have work to do. Your friends aren’t going to punish you for going to the library instead of hanging around and talking to them. Don’t feel bad if you miss out on a lunch or two to get a problem set done. People WILL understand.

2). Stop being so self-conscious. Chances are, no one is looking at you. No one really cares what you do unless you’re infringing on the happiness of someone else. Last week, my friend was belting out Irish tunes in the middle of the dining hall and no one even turned their heads (Shout out to Jeffrey for singing “Will Ye Go Lassie Go” in the Ratty last week).

3). Staying in on Friday and Saturday nights is underrated. Going out really isn’t all that’s it’s cracked up to be. The past few weekends, I’ve been hanging out with small groups of my good friends in their dorms and this has been infinitely better than most of my Freshman year weekends.

4). Providence is a pretty cool town. There are various festivals, food markets, and events that happen every week! If you’re like me and you love trying new food, Providence has so many cool and different restaurants in Wayland Square, on Federal Hill, and on Wickenden, etc.! Dare to venture off Thayer St! You will be rewarded handsomely with a life of good food!

5). READ MORNING MAIL. All of my friends made fun of me Freshman year for actually reading this, but for those of you who don’t know, Morning Mail is a daily email that the university sends out to students with campus updates and events that are happening that day. It’s a great way to meet new people, find out what cool things are happening on campus, and find events that are giving away free food!

So hopefully you haven’t fallen asleep, gotten bored, gotten distracted by videos of cute puppies, or started laughing so hard at my attempt at being an interesting life blogger that you had to stop reading and have made it to this point in my blog. I’m incredibly excited to have the opportunity to blog about my experiences at Brown this year, and I have a lot of cool topics that I can’t wait to write about in future entries. I’m just a small-town girl living in a lonely world trying to make it through the sophomore slump, so come back next week for an update on my survival status.

If you have any comments, questions, concerns, or suggestions, feel free to email me at christy_le@brown.edu! Thanks so much for reading and have a splendid day!

Until next week,

Christy

Leave a Reply

