Music to My Ears: From Baroque to Brunonia

Music 1

Hey y’all! I’m Eimi (pronounced ‘Amy’) and I’m your sophomore correspondent for Music to My Ears, my personal outlet that showcases the different facets that Brown’s music scene has to offer!  

It’s been 2 weeks into classes, and I could not be happier to be back at good ole’ Brunonia living the college student life. There are TONS of great musical developments coming up this year, which makes my life (and hopefully yours, albeit virtually) all the more exciting!

For those of you reading this for the first time, I’m Eimi and I’m a sophomore concentrating in Education Studies… which probably makes you question why this is my column. The extracurriculars I partake in with the biggest time commitment, alas, are musical. As a violinist, I am involved with the Brown University Orchestra and was a part of the Applied Music Program for strings last year. I am registered for MUSC 0680: Chamber Music Performance (T minus 3 hours until first string quartet rehearsal with coach btw) and yes, performing chamber music is a class that counts for 1/2 credit, along with other selections like orchestra and AMP. Nailed it. Outside of College Hill, I’m a violin teacher for BruNotes, a program that provides music education for youth in the Providence area who don’t have the necessary resources to pick up an instrument, or music in general. So that’s a little bit about me.

Now a lot more about what’s up and coming. This year, the orchestra will perform in Carnegie Hall for the first time in 24 years (aka I will be making my first Carnegie debut ever, along with other musicians of the orchestra) and record 2 CDs for Naxos Records! Throughout the year, we’ll be playing works by Dvorak, Gershwin, Burgess, Bernstein, Sibelius, and Philip Glass. Did I mention we’ll be hosting Philip Glass, and that he will be in the audience when we perform his Second Symphony? If you thought you read all of that incorrectly, go back and read again. It took me a couple days to actually digest the magnitude of what the orchestra will be doing this academic year.

Chamber Music also boasts a wide variety of events such as violin, piano, and cello masterclasses with Augustin Hadelich, Joyce Yang, and Alban Gehrhardt, respectively, a special chamber music concert at the Newport Art Museum, and the usual family weekend performances, brown bag concerts (where students are able to perform anything musical just by signing up), and the end-of-the-semester chamber music recitals.

That’s all I know for now about what’s happening this year… and it’s only been 2 weeks. The best is yet to come! And now, to leave you with my favorite kind of jokes: those of the viola sort. (#sorrynotsorry; okay fine, I’m sorry to the violists out there.)

What’s the difference between a violin and a viola?

  1. The viola burns longer.
  2. You can tune the violin.

Questions? Comments? Concerns? Email me at eimi_satoh@brown.edu!

 

Leave a Reply

