Snapshots of Brown: All Lined Up, and Ready to Go

AABS week 1

Welcome to Snapshots of Brown, your destination for pics of Brown all year long! I’m Celina Stewart, and I’ll be bringing you little photo insights into my third year on Brown’s campus. What’s up this week? Let’s take a look… 

It’s that time of year again… the sweltering heat is just cooling off enough that relaxing on the Main Green is actually comfortable. Among other things, school is starting back up. That means that alarms are set (these weaklings can’t get up at 9:30am? Try 7:45 for an hour-long commute in Washington, DC traffic!), schedules have been loaded into smartphone browsers for ~casual~ glances to avoid getting lost as rooms get rescheduled, and books have been ordered. Mine have been coming in from Amazon, and as you can see, I have quite the collection this year.

You can tell a lot about a student from the books on their bookshelf- you have some people with textbooks, people like me with a mix of “readers”, novels, and academically sound literature, and then people that collect every book they’ve purchased (I’m thinking of a particular suitemate of mine whose bookshelf has both shelves full). So what can you learn about the blogger that’ll be taking this photo-journey with you this year? 

1. I’m thrifty! Almost all of my books have been “used” and purchased for a lower price (pro-tip: ordering online lowers this even more). I’m off of meal plan, and keep a pretty meticulous budget to keep myself organized. This semester, you’ll definitely see some pictures of free or low-priced fun and activities around Providence.

2. Latin America makes up a significant chunk of the visible titles up there. I’m an International Relations concentrator with a focus on Latin America. I traveled to Costa Rica and Nicaragua this summer, and learned the fun fact that the banana is the largest herb. Now you know.

3. The other title that sticks out, due to some crafty graphic coloring, is Works of Love, by Kierkegaard. On top of being my favorite existentialist, I have waited five whole semesters to study some philosophy and am thrilled to have him on my bookshelf for an academic reading.

4. That giganto book on the end reads The Inheritance of Rome. Who inherited Rome? I don’t know, but I’m looking forward to finding out in what’s shaping up to be a fantastic premodern history class on the period of 300-1000CE. History is my second concentration (when it becomes official, I’ll make sure to post about the concentration declaration process).

5. It’s what’s outside of this shot that almost makes the photo- you can’t see my jumbled array of magazines, binders, folders, a leftover mirror, an awkwardly out of place microwavable tomato soup cup.

We’ve been here two weeks, but you haven’t missed much! As the semester progresses, this is the place to check in to learn more about what Brown looks like from a student perspective. They say the eyes are the window to the soul, but these snapshots will be a window into Brown University.

Have questions or comments? Want more details? Send an email to celina_stewart@brown.edu and I’ll get back ASAP!

 

Leave a Reply

