He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown: Packing Up and Shipping Out

packing stress

Brianna’s Take:

Dorm life: two words that inspire excitement and fear in the hearts of many incoming freshman. I’m Brianna Lambert, a first year student and one of the writers behind He, She and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. In this column I’ll share all of the good, bad, funny, and painfully awkward things that come along with living in a dorm.

The end is nigh. Ok, so maybe things aren’t as ominous as that, but second semester is winding down and I am (unbelievably) almost done with my first year of college. This time around I’ve really had to think about packing and storing all of the things in my dorm unlike last semester when I just packed a couple of suitcases and went home. Because I live so far away it would be extremely silly and expensive to try ship all of my stuff back home only to bring it back here at the start of next fall. That’s why I, along with a lot of other students, am storing my things at a storage unit.

There are lots of storage units in Rhode Island that you could use. Normally I would have done a lot of research to find that best unit at the cheapest price, but this time I simply went with the Brown Student Agencies sponsored storage unit. I won a voucher through a lottery that the BSA held so that company was going to end up being the cheapest option and I went with it.

Even though I’ve figured out where I’ll be keeping my things I’m still a little worried about moving. My storage unit only has a limited amount of space and I don’t know how I’m going to be able to fit all of the things I’ve accumulated throughout my year here. I also have to figure out when I’m going to pack. I have two friends who have already started the process and I feel like I’m behind even though there are three weeks left to the semester. With reading period and finals quickly approaching, I fear that I’ll forget to pack and end up scrambling to get everything together at the end. Hopefully I can find the time (and boxes) so I can have everything in order.

Cheers

Brianna

Chelsea’s Take: 

Hey there! I’m Chelsea Phan, one of the first-year students behind He, She, and Phe: Dorm Life at Brown. I’ll be telling you all about the home away from home!

The semester is coming to an end, and it’s almost time to say goodbye to our dorms. Goodbye to the rooms that hold so much memories. Goodbye to the bulk of stuff in your closet that you only used in the winter. Oh wait, what? Oh my goodness, I’m never coming back home into this room again, and I need to evacuate my belongings! But I have so much stuff! What do I do?!

Luckily, there are several options. If you live close by, well, good for you. You can bring the stuff you brought with you back the same way you brought it here, probably by a car or something. If you live farther away, it might be a bit of a hassle to bring everything back home, especially if certain items have no use for you at home. But do not fear! You can place your stuff in a storage over the summer.

This year, Brown partnered with College Storage RI to provide summer storage services to the Brown community. Among these services are packing supplies, shipping, moving and storage. Various options are available for each. There rates for storage depend on how much stuff you have/how much room you need. Typically, the cost ranges from $99 to $500 for the entire summer. This year, Brown also offered 633 $60 student vouchers through a lottery system that may be used toward any services offered by College Storage RI to help out with the costs.

Of course, you are free to use other summer storage services that are not officially associated with Brown. In fact, a couple of my friends and I found another place that offered services that were more compatible with our preferences, so we will be sharing storage over the summer.

Whatever you decide to do, just be sure to perform all the necessary research. How much space do you need? Do you need your items to be climate controlled? Do you need boxes? Do you need assistance with moving, or will you be moving the items yourself? Is there insurance? How long do you need the items to be stored? Figure these out, and see what works best for you.

There are plenty of options, and it really shouldn’t be a problem to pack up your room.

-Chelsea

If you have any questions, email brianna_lambert@brown.edu or bao-han_phan@brown.edu!

Leave a Reply

